SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 03-23-2008, 11:27 PM
Sage Advanced User

Hauppauge PVR-350 Alternatives - Fix or Replace?

I have been using SageTV and my PVR-350 for over 4 years now and it looks like it's time to change. I'm recording a lot of home videos that are Dolby Digital (AC3) and the PVR-350 will not play back the sound from these files. I'm trying to mimimize cost so I would appreciate all suggestions. This is my setup.

Dell 1.8ghz P4 with 2 gb RAM
Hauppauge PVR-350
Actisys IR-200L
1.2 TB Raid 0
Comcast Cable (No HD)
SageTV V5.0

I also have a Win2K3 Server available with the following specs:
Dell Poweredge 2650, Dual 2.8 ghz Xeon, 4GB RAM
250 GB Raid 5 SCSI
Gigabit Network to 1.2 TB Raid 0

Here are some options I'm thinking about but don't have a clear idea of which is better if any.

1. Convert all my videos to MPEG-2 Audio. If there was a quick way just to convert the audio portion without touching the video, I would entertain this, however it seems like I have to convert the entire .mpg file even though the video is already MPEG-2 (DVD).

2. Turn off the PVR-350 decoder (in Sage). I tried this but the CPU jumps to nearly 100% when playing back a video. This causes jerking playback and I'm concerned that it will also hinder simulataneous recording. Plus the audio is off since it is coming from the PC and the video is coming out the 350.