SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2012, 06:23 PM
stefano540's Avatar
stefano540 stefano540 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saratoga, CA
Posts: 35
web interface import/export xml issue

Hello,
i am trying to import a large xml file from a sage V6 into a sage V7 installation using the web interface, and am getting a Java crash. I then tried to export a single recording within V7 and re-import it, and am getting the same crash:

Exception while processing servlet:
java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.XmlImporterServlet.importXml(XmlImporterServlet.java:392)
at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.XmlImporterServlet.doServletGet(XmlImporterServlet.java:63)
at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.SageServlet.doGet(SageServlet.java:86)
at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.SageServlet.doPost(SageServlet.java:110)
at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:727)
at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:820)
at Acme.Serve.ServeConnection.runServlet(Serve.java:1504)
at Acme.Serve.ServeConnection.parseRequest(Serve.java:1479)
at Acme.Serve.ServeConnection.run(Serve.java:1366)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

I am at a loss as to what I need to do.
I am running Sage V7.19, and webserver 2.33.1749
Thanks in advance !!!
Stefano
__________________

ASUS Z68MX-UDH2, Ci5-2500k @3.4GHz, 8GB , 2x2TB Seagate Pipeline, HDHR Prime, HDHR, Win 10x64, Sage V9
Clients: 1 HD 200, 1 HD 300, 5 PCs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2012, 11:58 AM
stefano540's Avatar
stefano540 stefano540 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saratoga, CA
Posts: 35
additional information

I am sad that nobody was able to offer up any help so far.....
I have tried to debug this myself by trimming the xml input file to the bone.

This is the test xml file:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>

And this is the result after import:

Exception while processing servlet:
java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.XmlImporterServlet.importXml(XmlImporterServlet.java:392)
at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.XmlImporterServlet.doServletGet(XmlImporterServlet.java:63)
at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.SageServlet.doGet(SageServlet.java:86)
at net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.SageServlet.doPost(SageServlet.java:110)
at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:727)
at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:820)
at Acme.Serve.ServeConnection.runServlet(Serve.java:1504)
at Acme.Serve.ServeConnection.parseRequest(Serve.java:1479)
at Acme.Serve.ServeConnection.run(Serve.java:1366)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

So it is pretty clear to me that I have a buggy web server installation... What do I need to do to fix it ?
Thanks,
Stefano
__________________

ASUS Z68MX-UDH2, Ci5-2500k @3.4GHz, 8GB , 2x2TB Seagate Pipeline, HDHR Prime, HDHR, Win 10x64, Sage V9
Clients: 1 HD 200, 1 HD 300, 5 PCs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2012, 09:30 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Two things:

1) The stack trace you provide does not appear to lineup with the latest version of the web server UI. Which version are you running? Go to any page on the web UI and the version number should be at the bottom.

2) I think the null pointer is a result of an invalid/non-existent directory being passed in the url as the source of the xml to import. What is the full url being called to do the xml import? The url should have a param named directoryXML and its value should be the dir to read the xml imports from. My guess is that directory does not exist, can't be read, etc.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2012, 10:11 PM
stefano540's Avatar
stefano540 stefano540 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saratoga, CA
Posts: 35
Thanks for the information, now I have another problem....

Hi Slugger,
thanks for the information ! I was able to feed the import filter the right path and have transferred all the relevant recordings.
Now I have all the recordings show up in the "videos" section too
What is the best way to remove them ?
Thanks,
Stefano
__________________

ASUS Z68MX-UDH2, Ci5-2500k @3.4GHz, 8GB , 2x2TB Seagate Pipeline, HDHR Prime, HDHR, Win 10x64, Sage V9
Clients: 1 HD 200, 1 HD 300, 5 PCs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2012, 06:41 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
I've never actually used the feature so I don't know exactly what it's done. Hopefully someone who's used it can jump in and help you out.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2012, 06:31 PM
stefano540's Avatar
stefano540 stefano540 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saratoga, CA
Posts: 35
it fixed itself !!!

It turns out that as soon as I loaded a proper DVD directory everything straightened itself up as if nothing was ever a problem....
Stefano
__________________

ASUS Z68MX-UDH2, Ci5-2500k @3.4GHz, 8GB , 2x2TB Seagate Pipeline, HDHR Prime, HDHR, Win 10x64, Sage V9
Clients: 1 HD 200, 1 HD 300, 5 PCs
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import/Export Channel Lineup lenkost SageTV v7 Customizations 12 06-04-2017 04:57 PM
how to import/export recordings between two MCs? rnewman SageTV Software 10 07-06-2009 08:52 AM
Import/export does not work lcddream SageMC Custom Interface 7 10-06-2008 08:00 PM
export/import SageTV recordings? rnewman SageTV Software 9 06-22-2008 06:36 PM
Feature Request: Favorites Import/Export Truxton SageTV Beta Test Software 6 01-08-2008 03:08 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.