SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 02-10-2009, 04:24 PM
Sage User

Question on storing DVD's on Sage Server

Ok, so I've been trying to search and read up on how people are storing DVD's.
I'm new to Sage, and have SageTV running on my WHS server (which rocks btw)

Currently only running a Placeshifter client, but have plans to get 3 HD-200 extenders for viewing around the house.

My question revolves around DVD's and how best to store them for playback over placeshifter / SageClient / HD-200's. I have a fairly large collection of DVD's that I would like to store on my server for ease of use, as my server is not located somewhere that is easy for my wife to access. *yes we do have some stand alone DVD players, but looking for ease of use going forward

I realize I can use programs like AnyDVD to remove the copy protection, but do I just need to copy the files from the DVD to a directory on my WHS server?
Do I need to run shrinkDVD or cloneDVD before I copy the files to my server?
Do I need to convert the DVD's to an .iso image? (I'm not sure that the HD-200's will play then in iso format)

I would prefer to keep the dvd functionality for menus / chapter selection / etc.

Where should the "Audio_TS" and "Video_TS" files be stored on the server?
Currently I have SageTV storing my recorded shows in the //localhost/videos/sagetv. Should I store them in a new location like //localhost/videos/DVD?

How do I play these DVD's through placeshifter / HD extenders?