SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Old 12-31-2008, 08:25 AM
Sage User

Unhappy Lineup issues/confusion

I've been trying for a week now to get my channel lineup working. I'm so confused with the following terms/numbering schemes:
- Physical Channel number
- Channel number
- Logical Channel number
- 101-4-1 (what's this)
- 657MHz (I'm an engineer so I know what this is, but how does it correlate to the others)

My setup is an HDHR with Cablevision of Morris County NJ - Digital (07856 is my zip). I started with a Linux server but with these problems I thought I'd try Windows. It also has problems but different scan results.

My real problem is that every time I do a scan I get different results. Not one of which was fully working. Sometimes (and this seems to what windows scans produce) I get my channels scanned in at lightning speed by SageTV, but barely any of them work, ie when I tune to them I get no signal. I get the EPG data at this time. I now the signal is really there as I can manually tune with HDHR manager.

Is there a good technical writeup on all this channel numbering lineup stuff? At this point I'm so confuses, I can't tell what is and what isn't working.

Is there a file that I can manually configure the Frequency to Physical Channel to Logical Channel to Call sign for all the channels I'm interested in. I get 40-50 channels, but I only plan on using 5-10 of them, so this shouldn't be difficult if it's possible.