SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2017, 02:42 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 396
Sagetv docker on LinuxMint

How would I install docker on LinuxMint Debian without unraid? I am not sure which steps of a regular linux install are cancelled by the use of a docker. Is there already instructions for this? If not can I get a rundown? I figured this would be easier that doing & VM and take up less resources.

Last edited by Galaxysurfer; 06-20-2017 at 02:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2017, 04:03 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Basically

Step 1: Install Docker
https://docs.docker.com/engine/insta.../linux/ubuntu/

Step 2: Install SageTV
Code:
docker run -d --name sagetv-server \
  -v LOCAL_MEDIA_DIR:/var/media \
  -v OPTIONAL_LOCAL_EXTRA_MEDIA_DIR:/var/mediaext \
  -v LOCAL_SAGETV_DIR:/opt/sagetv \
  --net host \
  --env OPT_GENTUNER=Y \
  --env OPT_COMMANDIR=N \
  --env OPT_COMSKIP=Y \
  --env PUID=1000 \
  --env PGID=1000 \
  --env VIDEO_GUID=44 \
  --env JAVA_MEM_MB=1024 \
  --privileged \
  -t -i "stuckless/sagetv-server-java8"
To shut it down...
Code:
docker stop sagetv-server
docker rm -f sagetv-server
the PUID and PGID should be the UID and GUID values of the user that running docker (all files will be owned by that local UID/GUID)

VIDEO_GUID should be video GUID of the video group

LOCAL_XXX places in the script should be the local locations on your computer.
eg,
Code:
docker run -d --name sagetv-server \
  -v /home/sagetv/media/:/var/media \
  -v /home/sagetv/othermedia/:/var/mediaext \
  -v /home/sagetv/appdata/:/opt/sagetv \
  --net host \
  --env OPT_GENTUNER=Y \
  --env OPT_COMMANDIR=N \
  --env OPT_COMSKIP=Y \
  --env PUID=1000 \
  --env PGID=1000 \
  --env VIDEO_GUID=44 \
  --env JAVA_MEM_MB=1024 \
  --privileged \
  -t -i "stuckless/sagetv-server-java8"

Last edited by stuckless; 06-20-2017 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2017, 02:36 PM
Brewer's Avatar
Brewer Brewer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 28
Question: what's the purpose of VIDEO_GUID:

VIDEO_GUID should be video GUID of the video group

Does a video group need to be manually created?

--thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2017, 02:41 PM
Brewer's Avatar
Brewer Brewer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 28
Ok, looked at all groups in system and see the video group I think you are referring to:

video:x:44:

So how is this used in sage? I currently have mine set incorrectly and wonder what the ramifications are.

--thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2017, 02:55 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Because the Docker image is running as a "sagetv" docker user and is part of the "video" group there, we need to sync their video group to the host video group for permissions.

This is really only important if you are using an HDPVR or other video card that exposes a /dev/videoX device to the docker container. If you are not using video devices then nothing to worry about. (Network encoders are handles completely different)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2017, 03:01 PM
Brewer's Avatar
Brewer Brewer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 28
Ahh- I'm using HDHomeRun as tuner so not needed in my setup. Thanks for the explanation!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2017, 09:32 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Let us know how this goes as it may be useful for other folks who may want to run SageTV in a Docker under versions of Linux other than unRAID.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2017, 12:07 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Something to file away and play with on a rainy day...

https://github.com/portainer/portainer

Portainer is a GUI (web based) for managing docker instances. In a similar fashion as the unRAID Docker UI, Portainer, allows you to configure the volumes, ports, etc. They have their own template repostiory format, and in theory, we could publish SageTV there as well.

I have played with this and it's pretty nice. A little more involved than the simple unRAID one, but, still, better than a command line for most
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2017, 12:11 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Is there any reason to also use the SageTV Docker on Windows? I believe that you can run Docker on Windows as well as Linux.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2017, 01:48 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Is there any reason to also use the SageTV Docker on Windows? I believe that you can run Docker on Windows as well as Linux.
Docker on Windows is a kludge. It basically runs CentOS in a Hyper-V VM and that runs the Docker server. It's not at all Windows native. By default it's given 2 CPU's and 2GB of RAM. I think you'd be better off just running native Windows SageTV or run the Docker on a bare metal Linux.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-23-2017, 05:06 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Docker on Windows is a kludge. It basically runs CentOS in a Hyper-V VM and that runs the Docker server. It's not at all Windows native. By default it's given 2 CPU's and 2GB of RAM. I think you'd be better off just running native Windows SageTV or run the Docker on a bare metal Linux.
That's not true if you install CentOS from the app store on Windows 10. Then it's running on a translation layer called WSL. I still don't know if I would trust something that's production there, but it could be a real option in the future.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-24-2017, 07:47 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
That's not true if you install CentOS from the app store on Windows 10. Then it's running on a translation layer called WSL. I still don't know if I would trust something that's production there, but it could be a real option in the future.
I'm talking about the official Docker for Windows install.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-26-2017, 01:47 PM
Brewer's Avatar
Brewer Brewer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Let us know how this goes as it may be useful for other folks who may want to run SageTV in a Docker under versions of Linux other than unRAID.
FYI, I've been using Docker/SageTV on Xubuntu 15.04 for quite a while with no problems. It's hosted on my old HP Mediasmart server hardware (migrated from WHS to Xubuntu).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question about sagetv docker mechling-burgh SageTV for unRAID/Docker 8 06-23-2017 08:48 AM
SageTV Docker not working ptaylor SageTV for unRAID/Docker 10 06-02-2017 03:40 PM
Is my SageTV docker stuck or not ? makutaku SageTV for unRAID/Docker 21 03-13-2017 09:32 PM
Need advice for getting SageTV for docker as fast as possible wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 5 02-28-2017 07:19 PM
SageTV Docker on macOS benjamintm SageTV for unRAID/Docker 8 12-12-2016 07:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.