SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 06-18-2017, 07:13 AM
Sage Advanced User

Convert Video Directory from Mapped Drives to UNC

Is there a specific process to follow to convert from mapped drives to UNC drives?

I have searched the forums, but cannot find a definitive answer to my question. I have been running mapped drives for many years and Sage, running as a service, has never had a problem. But since Windows 10 has changed my control over when the machine reboots, I have seen the situation where a reboot has taken place and no one was there to logon the userid used for the mapped drives. Sage will not see its recording directories under that circumstance, so I intend to convert to UNC addresses.

I understand the creation of UNC addresses (I think), but I am not sure how to move from mapped to UNC. Under Video Recording Directories, should I just create UNC addresses and delete the mapped drives and restart Sage? I have a vague recollection of reading that something bad happens when Sage cannot find the original path for a recording (of which I have maybe 100). Is there a waiting period when both mapped and UNC should be active, then delete the mapped?

Any instruction appreciated.

Thanks.

Steve

Windows 10 Home Creators Edition (1703), OpenDCT (4.49), Sage 9.1.2.662, Java 8.131.
Old 06-18-2017, 02:59 PM
SageTVaholic

Just add the new location, and remove the old. Then unmap the shares (so that sage doesn't still 'see' the old location.