SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations > Phoenix 3.0
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Phoenix 3.0 This forum is for discussing the user-created Phoenix 3.0 custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #161  
Old 02-02-2017, 03:02 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
If you are editing the a view in x-vfs.xml, you need this line to include only home videos:

Code:
<filter by="homevideos" scope="include"/>
so you just add that into the view definition:

Code:
      <view name="phoenix.view.custom.homevidoesbyfilesystem" label="Home Videos by Folder" flat="false">
         <option name="children-only" value="true"/>
         <description>Home Videos Filesystem View</description>
         <tag value="video"/>
         <tag value="default"/>
         <source name="sagefilesystem">
            <option name="content" value="VideosByFolder"/>
         </source>
         <filter by="homevideos" scope="include"/>
         <presentation>
            <sort by="title">
               <option name="folders-first" value="true"/>
            </sort>
         </presentation>
      </view>
The final trick is that you have to put this view in a different file than x-vfs.xml. I'm not sure where this file is supposed to go however, I used to know but it's one of the many things I've forgotten in life. I think @stuckless will be able to answer that though.

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 02-02-2017, 04:30 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Well, I read the sticky on creating views and it said userdata/Phoenix/vfs/xxx.xml. Looks like it's loading.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 02-02-2017, 10:29 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Well, now I get more about the hub-bub is about VFS; it's pretty neat. Here's what I went with and working as desired:

Code:
<!DOCTYPE vfs SYSTEM "vfs.dtd">
<vfs>
	<tags>
		<tag value="folder" label="Folder View"/>
	</tags>
	<views>
		<view name="phoenix.view.custom.homevideosbyfolder" label="Home Videos By Folder" flat="false">
			<option name="children-only" value="true"/>
			<description>View of Home Videos by Folder</description>
			<tag value="homevideos"/>
			<tag value="folder"/>
			<view-source name="phoenix.view.default.videofolders"/>
			<filter by="homevideos" scope="include"/>
		</view>
	</views>
</vfs>
I think the problem I'm having with P3 is whether you want to have list or grid mode, (personally I'd like to mix those based on TV and movies). I've moved P3 to the main screen in list mode because I like it and we'll see what others think, but there are several consistency issues especially with right and left button presses. I believe those are hard to address if you're looking at a single option to handle both modes. For example the main menu is list, but submenus do not follow the same standard with right (nothing) and left (back) clicks. Right should IMHO drill down if available.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 02-03-2017, 07:37 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Very Nice! VFS is super cool, and super flexible. What we really need is a nice graphical tool to build views. That's always been in the 'backlog' but like Sweet Brown says, ain't nobody got time for that!
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 02-03-2017, 08:11 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
I think the problem I'm having with P3 is whether you want to have list or grid mode, (personally I'd like to mix those based on TV and movies).
In PhoenixLite it's sticky - so whatever view you select for each menu item is used the next time that view is loaded.

Quote:
I believe those are hard to address if you're looking at a single option to handle both modes. For example the main menu is list, but submenus do not follow the same standard with right (nothing) and left (back) clicks. Right should IMHO drill down if available.
SO - I agree, and I think if you try out PLite you'll find it more consistent in that regard that P3 - it has a simplified menu, and a better list implementation.

The only thing it really doesn't have that P3 has is weather backgrounds and an EPG.

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 02-03-2017, 11:23 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
In PhoenixLite it's sticky - so whatever view you select for each menu item is used the next time that view is loaded.



SO - I agree, and I think if you try out PLite you'll find it more consistent in that regard that P3 - it has a simplified menu, and a better list implementation.

The only thing it really doesn't have that P3 has is weather backgrounds and an EPG.

btl.
My kids use the EPG a bit. I think if it could get sorted by channel name that'd help. Right now it's too difficult to navigate. I don't know how all this gets put together, but is it possible to have the EPG view from P3 as an optional view in PLite?
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 02-03-2017, 12:08 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Sorting by channel name is not supported at the moment. In fact you can't sort the Live TV views at all right now - this is fixed but it requires an update to the phoenix-core. @stuckless is going to push that out this weekend also when he publishes the phoenix3 update.

Once THAT is in, you'll be able to sort the LiveTV view by Channel Number, Title, Original Air Date, and maybe a few others. I'll see if I can get a Channel Name added into that (I just added Channel Number, so it should be a relatively easy task to create a new sorter for Channel Name).

So if your kids are just looking for something that is on right NOW in the EPG - this would work. If they are trying to find something to watch in 3 hours, then we'll have to figure something else out...
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 02-03-2017, 12:30 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Sorry, I meant channel number. We have things set up with logical "numbers" like SPORTS-xxxx to group things. They're just worried about "right now" browsing.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 02-03-2017, 01:03 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
OK - it'll be interesting to see how the sort works with channels like that. I tried to make robust enough, but a normal alphabetical sort isn't enough since you want channels 5.1 before 40.2. So there is a lot of logic that looks at the major / minor number and tries to be intelligent. But your naming scheme might break it...
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 02-03-2017, 04:47 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 2,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Sorry, I meant channel number. We have things set up with logical "numbers" like SPORTS-xxxx to group things. They're just worried about "right now" browsing.
I didn't know channel numbers could be alphanumeric.
How do you enter channels numbers with your remote if you want to jump to a certain channel in the guide?
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 02-03-2017, 05:28 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
I didn't know channel numbers could be alphanumeric.
How do you enter channels numbers with your remote if you want to jump to a certain channel in the guide?
I don't think my kids ever used that. They tend to Pg Up/Down through the guide. And if say a couple games are on at the same time that they want to watch they'll tune both and then use the Prev button to switch between them. (They refuse to record sports which drives me nuts, but they're texting and doing social media things about the games.)
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 02-04-2017, 01:08 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Well, now I get more about the hub-bub is about VFS; it's pretty neat. Here's what I went with and working as desired...
You inspired me to write a new View @KarylFStein! It's all the sports content that is on Today

Code:
<!DOCTYPE vfs SYSTEM "vfs.dtd">
<vfs>

   <filters>
      <item-group name="sportstoday" label="Sports Today" mode="and">
         <filter by="date" value="" />
         <filter by="genre" value="sports.*">
            <option name="use-regex-matching" value="true" />
         </filter>
         <tag value="epg" />
      </item-group>
   </filters>
   
   <views>
      <view name="phoenix.view.bialio.airings24" label="Future Airings (24 hours)" flat="true" visible="false">
         <description>24 hours of airings</description>
         <tag value="epg" />
         <source name="expression">
            <option name="expression">GetAiringsOnViewableChannelsAtTime(java_lang_System_currentTimeMillis(), java_lang_System_currentTimeMillis() + (24 * 60 * 60 * 1000), true)</option>
         </source>
      </view>
	  
      <view name="phoenix.view.bialio.todayssports" label="Sports Today" flat="false">
         <option name="children-only" value="true" />
         <description>Sports on later today</description>
         <tag value="epg" />
         <view-source name="phoenix.view.bialio.airings24" />
         <view-source name="phoenix.view.primary.currentlyairing" />
         <filter by="sportstoday" />
		 
         <presentation level="1">
            <sort by="starttime" />
         </presentation>
      </view>
   </views>
   
</vfs>


Attached Images
File Type: jpg sportstoday.jpg (137.0 KB, 329 views)
File Type: jpg sportstoday2.jpg (136.9 KB, 345 views)
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient

Last edited by bialio; 02-05-2017 at 08:38 AM. Reason: Updated view to include currently airing sports also
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 02-04-2017, 01:28 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Ooo, that'll be useful
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 02-05-2017, 08:37 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Ooo, that'll be useful
Made one tweak - the version above was only returning future sports shows. This gets it to include currently airing ones also.

Code:
         <view-source name="phoenix.view.bialio.airings24" />
         <view-source name="phoenix.view.primary.currentlyairing" />
         <filter by="sportstoday" />
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 02-20-2017, 10:17 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I've got a few problems/suggestions. I've been trying to start using Phoenix 3 because it's so much nicer to look at and I like how recorded TV and imported TV are shown together.
  1. Is there a search function? If not that would be very helpful.
  2. The "Commercials Skipped" message that pops up in the middle of the screen is annoying to us. Any way to get rid of it or have an option to disable it? Also, I don't have logs available but the automatic blind skipping seems to work or not work inconsistently.
  3. When stopping playback of an episode or deleting an episode that you just finished playing it jumps to the top of the list of shows rather than going back to the list of the show's episodes. This is rather annoying when you're trying to binge watch a show.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 02-20-2017, 10:36 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Generically speaking I'd say use PheonixLite - it is basically P3 visually, and your #3 issue is fixed there. I do not plan on fixing that in P3 - the code is too complex.

1) Search - the only search available is one that lets you filter a folder down to all the shows that start with a certain letter. You use the numbers on the remote to do this.

2) "Commercials Skipped" - I'll make that configurable. I'm not sure about the consistency issue - I don't let it skip commercials for me (I prefer manually) so it's not a feature I see in action ever. I'll do some testing.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 02-20-2017, 03:58 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
The "Commercials Skipped" message that pops up in the middle of the screen is annoying to us. Any way to get rid of it or have an option to disable it? Also, I don't have logs available but the automatic blind skipping seems to work or not work inconsistently.
Hey - does the code in the comskip plugin (regarding autocomskip) for the default STV work pretty well? If so I might just try to port that to to P3/PLite instead of trying to figure out why the Phoenix UI version doesn't work...
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 02-20-2017, 04:00 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
Hey - does the code in the comskip plugin (regarding autocomskip) for the default STV work pretty well? If so I might just try to port that to to P3/PLite instead of trying to figure out why the Phoenix UI version doesn't work...
Yes, I've never had any trouble with it.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 02-21-2017, 10:43 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I'm not an STV programmer so I'm not sure how easy it would be to create a plug-in for Phoenix 3 or if it can be added to the main STV. There's a plugin for the default STV to add a sleep timer that we use nearly every night.

We used to just put the TV on QAM cable and let the TV shut itself off but Cox encrypted everything so we can't do that any more and I've not been in any kind of hurry to disturb our antenna signal to run to the TV's when we can just watch through SageTV. If we use the sleep timer on our TV and play live TV then it will just be "recording" all night until someone stops it the next morning.

I'd like to switch to Phoenix 3 or Phoenix Lite but for our bedroom the sleep timer is a show stopper.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 02-21-2017, 11:04 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I'll take a look. Probably not that hard to add it.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta 7 UI Feedback Asmordean SageTV Beta Test Software 10 06-12-2010 06:28 PM
quick feedback on today's beta cat6man SageTV Beta Test Software 3 03-17-2009 02:51 PM
jittering after testing new beta briefly Teg SageTV Software 2 11-14-2004 09:01 AM
Beta .11 feedback drbenson SageTV Beta Test Software 42 02-02-2004 10:01 AM
Second Beta feedback jominor SageTV Beta Test Software 9 01-30-2004 01:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.