SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 07-07-2012, 03:39 AM

Question Need suggestions for alternate capturing

I've been capturing via Firewire from my STB for 8 or 9 years now and I'm getting a bit tired of all the work that goes into creating flawless clips. (record, watch to make sure it didn't get a graphical glitch, re-record if it did and watch that, etc.)

I've used several other cards over the years to capture and none have produced the quality that my current setup has. Sure the file sizes are horrendously large, but I'm ok with that. Hauppauge's Colossus, ATI's All-in-wonder back when the Radeon first made it's appearance and another cheapy card that ended up being free after rebate are the cards I've had previously and just today I purchased a TiVo hoping it would be my answer to my capping woes. Little did I know that just because I can capture most channels via Firewire off my Comcast DVR doesn't mean their cablecard would do the same. I still don't have that card working properly yet so time will only tell if I'll be able to download and edit ANY channels other than OTA.

Now my question to any that see this. What capture cards/devices should I look into that won't produce lines in the picture (like the Colossus had w/component cables) and will keep the quality as if I was watching it right off the cable box? If it has HDMI, it must also be usable with my cable box which the Colossus couldn't handle doing.