SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Old 05-04-2012, 11:31 PM

migrating/upgrading from Sagetv on Mac to Sagetv on Linux

I've been using Sagetv on my Mac for several years, but since it is no longer getting updates nor being maintained, I'd like to switch to Sagetv on a linux box. I'm currently running v. 6.6.2 on my Mac.

Any thoughts or suggestions about moving to the latest version on a Linux box? I'm using a HD Homerun tuner which will work with no problems on both, and I store all my media on a NAS so no problems there either. I guess one question I have is what to do about my license key. Will the one I have now on my Mac work on a Linux install? Or will I need a new license key? Do they even offer new ones?? Just wondering what my options are.

Thanks.
Old 05-05-2012, 08:17 AM
SageTVaholic

You will need a new license key.

B
Old 05-05-2012, 11:21 AM
Sage Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
You will need a new license key.

B
I recall someone asked the very same question regarding the license in the forum and to be precise the licence is independent from the platform, however if I understood correctly you want to move from v6 (Mac) to v7 (Linux) correct? In this case then you need a new license indeed, this is due to the fact that Sage introduced the need of purchase a new licence for everybody willing to move from v6 to v7 and not because of the platform.

In short, you can still move to Linux if you want, but you have to stick with v6 on Linux as well.

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll