SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 02-10-2011, 11:51 PM
Sage User

Question No playback of files on UnRAID server

I'm not sure whether to post this on the Sage forum or the UnRAID forum ...

I'm still a SageTV newbie. I installed SageTV v7 on a Windows 7 PC for my wife for this past Christmas, and in the 6 weeks or so since then she has filled up the 1TB drive on the SageTV server with recorded movies (all of which are, of course, sacred and must be kept forever). And she's thirsting for more storage.

So I built an UNRAID server for her to fill up with films. The build went smoothly, installing UNRAID was straightforward, and everything looked good -- until I actually tried to copy a SageTV recording to the UNRAID server and play it from there.

The first problem is that when I scan my import directories (which include //TOWER/disk2 on my UNRAID box), it doesn't always import the files which are actually in that directory. Most of the time (~75%), the files show up, but not always. Secondly, even if the file shows up, sometimes it is listed as zero bytes. Other times the correct file size shows up.

The big problem, though, is that when I actually try to play the file (either directly on the SageTV server or via the HD300 extender at the TV), the SageTV UI locks up for a couple of minutes and then I get a PlaybackException saying "error accessing the filesystem."

Here are the basics of my setup:

SageTV server:

Gateway DX4320
4GB RAM
1 TB HDD