SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2010, 10:50 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Conversions - Video to Audio

Is it possible to add a conversion format to Sage to produce mp3 audio files from a mpg radio recording? Would be really handy to add this to radio favourites so they are all auto-converted...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2010, 12:45 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
you'd have to research the ffmpeg commands required, but I'm pretty sure you could make a custom profile that send the video to null, and outputted to an mp3 file.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2010, 05:52 PM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
you'd have to research
There you go, that's where it all falls over for me...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2010, 03:05 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Okay, finally found some time to do this. Simple command, works:
Code:
ffmpeg -i <filename>.mpg -ab 128k <filename>.mp3
Any idea how this maps into a command in sage.properties like:
Code:
transcoder/formats/iPod-Fair\ Quality=f\=mp4;
MCompressionDetails\=-bufsize 33554432 -g 300;
[bf\=vid;f\=mpeg4;br\=500000;fps\=29.97;w\=512;
h\=384;arn\=4;ard\=3;][bf\=aud;f\=aac;sr\=44100;ch\=2;br\=64000;]
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2010, 07:07 AM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
Okay, finally found some time to do this. Simple command, works:
Code:
ffmpeg -i <filename>.mpg -ab 128k <filename>.mp3
Any idea how this maps into a command in sage.properties like:
Code:
transcoder/formats/iPod-Fair\ Quality=f\=mp4;
MCompressionDetails\=-bufsize 33554432 -g 300;
[bf\=vid;f\=mpeg4;br\=500000;fps\=29.97;w\=512;
h\=384;arn\=4;ard\=3;][bf\=aud;f\=aac;sr\=44100;ch\=2;br\=64000;]
Wild shot in the dark.

Code:
 
transcoder/formats/Audio-Only\ Quality=f\=mp3;MCompressionDetails\=-ab 128K;
Someone else will probably have the correct format for you.

P.S. If this actually does work let me know because I need to purchase a Lotto ticket while my luck holds.

Last edited by BobPhoenix; 11-05-2010 at 07:34 AM. Reason: lotto
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2010, 07:52 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Thanks for that!
Had to tweak it to:
Code:
transcoder/formats/Audio-128k=f\=mp3;MCompressionDetails\=-ab 128000;
But that failed, with this line in the log:
Quote:
Fri 11/5 13:49:10.329 [AWT-EventQueue-0@2af081] processOptionsMenu optionsMenu=default:BASE-50504|OptionsMenu:Conversion Started Dialog
Fri 11/5 13:49:10.334 [Ministry@10ee566] Set Transcode format source=MPEG2-PS 0:00:00 20 kbps [#0 Audio[MP2 48000 Hz 2 channels 160 kbps MAIN idx=0 id=c0 eng]] dest=mp3 0:00:00 0 kbps [{CompressionDetails=-ab 128000}]
Don't know how it gets that "dest=mp3 0:00:00 0 kbps" stuff...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2010, 08:35 AM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
Thanks for that!
Had to tweak it to:
Code:
transcoder/formats/Audio-128k=f\=mp3;MCompressionDetails\=-ab 128000;
Wow I should get my lotto ticket may only miss the powerball.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
But that failed, with this line in the log:

Quote:
Fri 11/5 13:49:10.329 [AWT-EventQueue-0@2af081] processOptionsMenu optionsMenu=default:BASE-50504|OptionsMenu:Conversion Started Dialog
Fri 11/5 13:49:10.334 [Ministry@10ee566] Set Transcode format source=MPEG2-PS 0:00:00 20 kbps [#0 Audio[MP2 48000 Hz 2 channels 160 kbps MAIN idx=0 id=c0 eng]] dest=mp3 0:00:00 0 kbps [{CompressionDetails=-ab 128000}]
Don't know how it gets that "dest=mp3 0:00:00 0 kbps" stuff...
Sorry but I have no ideas about that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2010, 08:51 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Hmmm, this seems to be working:
Code:
transcoder/formats/Audio-128k=f\=mp3;[bf\=aud;f\=mp3;sr\=44100;ch\=2;br\=128000;]
Produces an mp3, but doesn't play on my phone, or on mediamonkey. Can only get it to play on WMP...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-05-2010, 09:41 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
Is it possible to add a conversion format to Sage to produce mp3 audio files from a mpg radio recording? Would be really handy to add this to radio favourites so they are all auto-converted...
Does this help?
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-2010, 09:51 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by starfire View Post
Does this help?
Thanks, that would have saved me some time...

But the lines are identical but for the bitrate and name:
transcoder/formats/Audio-128k=f\=mp3;[bf\=aud;f\=mp3;sr\=44100;ch\=2;br\=128000;]
transcoder/formats/MP3-384CBR=f\=mp3;[bf\=aud;f\=mp3;sr\=44100;ch\=2;br\=384000;]

So does ffmpeg just produce mp3 that isn't very compatible/standard?
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:17 PM
TBacker's Avatar
TBacker TBacker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North Syracuse, NY
Posts: 124
I found out the hard way just recently that the Sage transcoder MP3 output is broken.

It will spit out an audio file with an MP3 extension, but it is really an MP2 (Mpeg 1 Layer 2) audio file internally.

While some players will read such a file (they see MP3 and just look for any MPEG audio data), most will not, or will mis-judge the format giving you either a noise burst for audio or truncated playback.

Try changing the file extension to MP2 and see if you have anything that plays it.

Myself - I need automatic MP3 export of audio from a video favorite, so I guess I have to look for some outboard means to accomplish that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-09-2010, 03:31 PM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBacker View Post
I found out the hard way just recently that the Sage transcoder MP3 output is broken.
Damn, thanks. Did you report it as a bug?
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-09-2010, 03:39 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Sage doesn't export MP3's for licencing issues, I believe AAC is available though.
__________________
Clients: 1xHD200 Connected to 50" TH-50PZ750U Plasma
Server : Shuttle SFF SSH55J2 w/ Win7 Home, SageTV v7, Core i3 540, 2GB RAM, 30GB SSD for OS, 1.5TB+2x1TB WDGP for Recordings, BluRay, 2xHDHR, 1xFirewire
SageTV : PlayOn, SJQ, MediaShrink, Comskip, Jetty, Web Client, BMT


Having a problem? Don't forget to include a log! (Instructions for: PlayOn For SageTV v1.5, MediaShrink)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-09-2010, 04:52 PM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
Sage doesn't export MP3's for licencing issues, I believe AAC is available though.
Any ideas, this one fails every time:

transcoder/formats/AAC-96k=f\=m4a;[bf\=aud;f\=aac;sr\=44100;ch\=2;br\=96000;]

Log:
Code:
Tue 11/9 22:49:39.236 [Ministry@ddbc17] Initiating xcode for V:\pvr\AldousHuxleysBraveNewWorld-2869081-0.mpg
Tue 11/9 22:49:39.237 [AWT-EventQueue-0@c5495e] processOptionsMenu optionsMenu=default:BASE-50504|OptionsMenu:Conversion Started Dialog
Tue 11/9 22:49:39.241 [Ministry@ddbc17] Set Transcode format source=MPEG2-PS 0:00:00 20 kbps [#0 Audio[MP2 48000 Hz 2 channels 160 kbps MAIN idx=0 id=c0 eng]] dest=m4a 0:00:00 0 kbps [#0 Audio[aac 44100 Hz 2 channels 96 kbps]]
Tue 11/9 22:49:39.248 [Ministry@ddbc17] Using 5 threads for the transcoder
Tue 11/9 22:49:39.250 [Ministry@ddbc17] Ministry is waiting for 180 sec
Tue 11/9 22:49:40.250 [Ministry@ddbc17] Ministry is waiting for 180 sec
Tue 11/9 22:49:43.835 [AWT-EventQueue-0@c5495e] KillTranscoding for:MediaFile[id=2893684 A[2869081,2866332,"Aldous Huxley's Brave New World",65685@1108.18:15,15] mask=TV host=pvrecorder encodedBy=Hauppauge WinTV MOD7700 DVB-T Capture (Dev1 Path0) Radio7 format=MPEG2-PS 0:00:00 20 kbps [#0 Audio[MP2 48000 Hz 2 channels 160 kbps MAIN idx=0 id=c0 eng]] V:\pvr\AldousHuxleysBraveNewWorld-2869081-0.mpg, Seg0[Mon 11/8 18:10:00.014-Mon 11/8 18:35:00.014]]
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-27-2011, 04:20 AM
mevans mevans is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 85
Just wondered if anybody has made any progress with this at all??
__________________
Server: ASUS P7P55D, Core i5 750 2.66GHz, 4GB RAM, Antec Three Hundred, 1x TBS 6284 PCI-E DVB-T2 Quad (OTA HD 'Freeview'), 2x HD Homerun dual tuners (OTA SD 'Freeview'), WHS OS installed on Seagate 250GB SATAII, Recording to 9TB Storage Pool (64k clusters)
SageTV version: 7.1.9
HDHomerun's plugged into mobo NIC via giga switch
2nd NIC to home network
Program Guide: DigiGuide Birtles Grabber XMLTV Importer for SageTV
Clients: Two HD200, One HD300, Client on PC, Placeshifter on PC
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-27-2011, 05:16 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
No, never worked, I just automated an external program to do the conversion for me - ffmpeg in the end did the job best.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-27-2011, 10:13 AM
mevans mevans is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 85
Thanks for this. ffmpeg looks like an interesting program for this (and many other things!)

Would you mind sharing your script (and details of how you execute it)?

- also this is your opportunity for your 1500th post!! -

Cheers
__________________
Server: ASUS P7P55D, Core i5 750 2.66GHz, 4GB RAM, Antec Three Hundred, 1x TBS 6284 PCI-E DVB-T2 Quad (OTA HD 'Freeview'), 2x HD Homerun dual tuners (OTA SD 'Freeview'), WHS OS installed on Seagate 250GB SATAII, Recording to 9TB Storage Pool (64k clusters)
SageTV version: 7.1.9
HDHomerun's plugged into mobo NIC via giga switch
2nd NIC to home network
Program Guide: DigiGuide Birtles Grabber XMLTV Importer for SageTV
Clients: Two HD200, One HD300, Client on PC, Placeshifter on PC
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-29-2011, 04:05 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
As you no doubt would have guessed, it's a bit complicated. I have another machine on my network that runs a job every hour, which compares recordings with a text file that contains names of shows for conversion. It then uses the web plugin to check if it's still being recorded. If the program is not being recorded and is on an audio channel (>= 700 on my setup), it fires off:
Code:
copy "%fnf%" "%tmf%%fn%.mpg"
%cur%ffmpeg -i %tmf%%fn%.mpg -ab 128k %xvf%%fn%.mp3
This effectively copies the mpg input to a temp folder and runs ffmpeg with output to my dump area. Filename is passed in and then fnf/fn set as:
Code:
set fnf=%1
if [%1] == [] goto end
c:
cd %cur%
for /F "tokens=3 delims=\." %%n in ("%fnf%") do set fn=%%n
I can send you all the scripts if you like, but as I say it's all a bit involved!
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-05-2011, 09:23 AM
mevans mevans is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 85
Thanks for the info. Sorry it has taken me so long to reply.

I did indeed suspect that things were quite involved !!

I'm gonna have a play over the next few weeks and see if i get something working.

Thanks again.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7P55D, Core i5 750 2.66GHz, 4GB RAM, Antec Three Hundred, 1x TBS 6284 PCI-E DVB-T2 Quad (OTA HD 'Freeview'), 2x HD Homerun dual tuners (OTA SD 'Freeview'), WHS OS installed on Seagate 250GB SATAII, Recording to 9TB Storage Pool (64k clusters)
SageTV version: 7.1.9
HDHomerun's plugged into mobo NIC via giga switch
2nd NIC to home network
Program Guide: DigiGuide Birtles Grabber XMLTV Importer for SageTV
Clients: Two HD200, One HD300, Client on PC, Placeshifter on PC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Conversions Stopped Working squeed SageTV Software 2 01-09-2009 10:45 AM
No audio in Ipod conversions drewg SageTV Linux 4 03-19-2008 09:18 PM
Automatic Conversions EdwardATeller SageTV Software 2 03-01-2008 05:56 PM
Disable video conversions? dexterdom SageTV Software 3 03-17-2007 05:52 AM
Conversions Jackal24 SageTV Software 3 03-12-2007 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.