SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:40 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Dynamic Reflections?

Dynamic reflections were added to the 6.3.8a. Can you explain this. I would love to add this to my iMovies plugin if possible.

* Copied to its own topic. *
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:52 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711
Dynamic reflections were added to the 6.3.8a. Can you explain this. I would love to add this to my iMovies plugin if possible.
I was thinking exactly the same thing, it would look extreamly cool in your import. However I dont really understand it and all I can tell you is, its done with "imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection(Img, 0.2, 0.0)". This was MeInMaui's baby so you could ask him or alternatively take a look at my import and see how its done.
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2008, 04:43 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
I was thinking exactly the same thing, it would look extreamly cool in your import. However I dont really understand it and all I can tell you is, its done with "imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection(Img, 0.2, 0.0)". This was MeInMaui's baby so you could ask him or alternatively take a look at my import and see how its done.
The class looks really easy to use. I already plugged it into my code. It works really well. It does put a decent hit on the GUI speed, but I guess that I will just make the reflections an option.

This was on my list of nice to have features. MeInMaui is making some awesome improvements! This is a real nice addition.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2008, 04:47 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
The class looks really easy to use. I already plugged it into my code. It works really well. It does put a decent hit on the GUI speed, but I guess that I will just make the reflections an option.

This was on my list of nice to have features. MeInMaui is making some awesome improvements! This is a real nice addition.
Yep, he's done some really cool things lately I was wonding how much better the HD200 will be at handling really intensive GUI animations and effects. I guess I'll find out this week when mine arives after customs have finished with it
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2008, 04:54 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
I was thinking exactly the same thing, it would look extreamly cool in your import. However I dont really understand it and all I can tell you is, its done with "imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection(Img, 0.2, 0.0)". This was MeInMaui's baby so you could ask him or alternatively take a look at my import and see how its done.
You open the image you want to generate the reflection for as a BufferedImage:

Img = GetImageAsBufferedImage()

Then you create the reflection by calling:

imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection(Img, StartOpacity float, EndOpacity float)
(I usually choose StartOpacity to be something like 0.4 and EndOpacity to be 0.0)

Then you just feed that into an image widget.

If you want something simpler to implement, try using

imageutils_Transform_createReflection(Img, StartOpacity float, EndOpacity float)

This returns the original image with the reflection embedded so you don't have to worry about handling multiple images.

I don't recommend using this too indiscriminately. It can cause some performance issues if you use too many at once.

Aloha,
Mike

P.S. Nice job on the import, Ben!

Edit: Looks like I took too long to type.
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2008, 04:55 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Yep, he's done some really cool things lately I was wonding how much better the HD200 will be at handling really intensive GUI animations and effects. I guess I'll find out this week when mine arives after customs have finished with it
I can tell you from experience that the HD200 is close to pc client speed in animations and rendering. It is a huge improvement over the HD100.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:28 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInMaui View Post
You open the image you want to generate the reflection for as a BufferedImage:

Img = GetImageAsBufferedImage()

Then you create the reflection by calling:

imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection(Img, StartOpacity float, EndOpacity float)
(I usually choose StartOpacity to be something like 0.4 and EndOpacity to be 0.0)

Then you just feed that into an image widget.

If you want something simpler to implement, try using

imageutils_Transform_createReflection(Img, StartOpacity float, EndOpacity float)

This returns the original image with the reflection embedded so you don't have to worry about handling multiple images.

I don't recommend using this too indiscriminately. It can cause some performance issues if you use too many at once.
MeInMaui,

Were you stating that imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection will perform considerably better that imageutils_Transform_createReflection? I was trying to use the latter, and it works perfectly, but there is about a second lag between actions, which does not surprise me at all because of all of the work that needs to be done.

If both methods perform roughly the same do you have any suggestions for making this quicker. Maybe I can do the transformations ahead of time...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2008, 05:40 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
MeInMaui,

Were you stating that imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection will perform considerably better that imageutils_Transform_createReflection? I was trying to use the latter, and it works perfectly, but there is about a second lag between actions, which does not surprise me at all because of all of the work that needs to be done.

If both methods perform roughly the same do you have any suggestions for making this quicker. Maybe I can do the transformations ahead of time...
Never mind. I found a way to speed it up by caching the previous transformations. This is working great!

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/atta...1&d=1228865997
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Reflections.jpg (91.2 KB, 440 views)

Last edited by Opus4; 12-09-2008 at 06:27 PM. Reason: Image is too wide to post inline; changed to a link
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2008, 05:42 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
I love it!

(I'll have to check out how you did the caching too.)
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:46 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Whoa, that is looking really SWEET. The reflections make it look much better than before. I'm so looking forward to this Any estimation on a release date? Or maybe you need a tester
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders

Last edited by jaminben; 12-10-2008 at 08:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-10-2008, 11:14 AM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
I have a quick suggestion. Check out how the custom detailed info screen is called in the latest release of SageMC (I can post a screenshot of the code snippet if you want). If you can implement that, then jaminben's movie info screen can easily be called from yours. I'm sur ethat would make a lot of people happy. Let me know if you need any help.

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-2008, 11:36 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Whoa, that is looking really SWEET. The reflections make it look much better than before. I'm so looking forward to this Any estimation on a release date? Or maybe you need a tester
I am real close. I had some problems with the HD100. It seems that it does not like having more than a few Animation Layers. If I have more than a few the screen gets all garbled, and I need to restart the interface for it to come back. I very close to having the problem completely worked out. I had a small break through last night.

Also you and MeInMaui keep adding new features that I feel need to be supported.

If you PM me your email address I would be happy to send you my current progress as an import. It should be in a form I can share with you in the next few days.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-10-2008, 11:42 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInMaui View Post
I have a quick suggestion. Check out how the custom detailed info screen is called in the latest release of SageMC (I can post a screenshot of the code snippet if you want). If you can implement that, then jaminben's movie info screen can easily be called from yours. I'm sur ethat would make a lot of people happy. Let me know if you need any help.

Aloha,
Mike
Mike,

I will be adding this. I will look at the widget code, and let you know if I am confused or need help.

P.S. Did you see my question about taking a Screen Capture of the Sage GUI from a widget chain in the Studio Forum. If you have any suggestions I would really appreciate it. I am developing a export of the layout settings for iMovies, and I would like to take a screen cap to go along with the export so that users can see the layout when the select it for import.

P.S.S If you would like to take a look at iMovies before I release version 1 let me know. Your input would be appreciated, especially if I am doing anything that might cause SageMC issues.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-11-2008, 12:40 PM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 406
Mike,
Is imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection(Img, StartOpacity float, EndOpacity float) code Java code or something you added to the SageMC code in studio. I was wondering if it could be used in the base Sage Menu system.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-11-2008, 03:25 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechling-burgh View Post
Mike,
Is imageutils_Transform_createJustReflection(Img, StartOpacity float, EndOpacity float) code Java code or something you added to the SageMC code in studio. I was wondering if it could be used in the base Sage Menu system.
Mike correct me if I am wrong,

This is the new imageutils.jar that is a part of the SageMC version 6.3.8a release. You could copy this jar from the SageMC release, and use it in the Standard STV. I do not know if permission would be need to do this or not since it is Mike's code.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-11-2008, 03:44 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Mike correct me if I am wrong,

This is the new imageutils.jar that is a part of the SageMC version 6.3.8a release. You could copy this jar from the SageMC release, and use it in the Standard STV. I do not know if permission would be need to do this or not since it is Mike's code.
jvl is right. All of the reflection code is in the imageutils.jar file. You can use it with the default STV, but I'm probably not going to be able to provide any support for that. I'm already barely keeping my head above water with just SageMC.

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-11-2008, 07:39 PM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 406
Mike I would not expect you too. I always have big plans but to little time to do it. If your alright with me using it I may take a crack at using it the sage Standard STV. Thanks'

Last edited by mechling-burgh; 12-11-2008 at 07:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dynamic menus messed up google youtube etc. help! Homebuilder SageTV Customizations 1 06-16-2008 07:01 AM
Miniguide and Dynamic Custom Menus Issue pjpjpjpj SageTV Customizations 3 06-06-2008 10:00 AM
SageMC, Netflix icon and dynamic menus petereader SageMC Custom Interface 17 02-26-2008 09:09 PM
sage.PlaybackException on new video source during first run dsobiera SageTV Linux 2 09-23-2007 04:29 AM
Major issues with comskip/malore3.13 and dynamic menu stvi EdwardN SageTV Customizations 0 03-14-2006 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.