SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 06-13-2007, 09:18 PM
Sage Advanced User

Linksys Powerline A/V - Double check my assumptions

Hey all,

A little background, I've been running SageTV for over 2 years now on my ancient 1.4GHz Athlon and 27" SDTV. But I just bought my first house, and in addition to getting my first HDTV, I want to install a new Sage server/client setup that can stream HDTV.

The problem is, I have enough to do with this house that I don't want to run Cat5e cable throughout it and I don't trust wireless (even the high power pre-N, MIMO stuff). I decided to give the Linksys Powerline A/V product (networking through the existing powerlines in the house)a try, but first I wanted to test it. I found that this product was amazingly consistent in this house. I was able to play hi-def videos on my laptop from my HTPC, without hiccups, no matter where I plugged in. I also transferred a 454MB file and found it consistently took approximately 165 seconds to transfer [This was using Windows explorer to copy & paste the file, which I've heard is very inefficient]. By my calcs, this gives me a transfer rate of 22 Mbits/s. As a frame of reference, the same file takes 117 seconds to transfer when hard-wired with a 100Mbit/s Cat5 cable or 31 Mbits/s.