SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 11-28-2005, 01:08 PM
Sage User

Cable Reception Survey

Hi guys,

How many of you actually get crystal clear reception on lower channels via your cable provider?

I have been using Sattelite for 5 years now and earlier this year for $$$ decided that I would try out the digital cable. I have whole house video so it was no big deal to make the connections.

I switched back to Sattelite within 24 hours of having the cable hooked up.

The reception was HORRIBLE.

I'm wondering if maybe I should try it again.
Old 11-28-2005, 03:14 PM
Sage Icon

I run analog because all I watch happens to fall within the analog package, and it's seemless for an HTPC...(and I have OTA HD). I'm pretty impressed with the quality of most of the channels...some are crappy from the source though. One thing I did do though, was minimize the splits in the signal. There is one splitter, at the cableco termination. One feed goes directly to the HTPC, the other gets split to the rest of the house.

P
Old 11-28-2005, 05:53 PM
Sage Expert

Yep, that's why I canned Cox ... aweful analog, over-compressed digital and overpriced service (esp. IRT cable boxes.)

Much happier now that I have D* again.
Old 11-28-2005, 08:37 PM
Sage Icon

Comcast Analog cable here in my area of CT is HORRIBLE!! Especially on the lower channels the picture is crappy and there's scrolling video hum bars. Sometimes really bad, sometimes not too bad, but always there.