SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #501  
Old 10-27-2004, 03:42 PM
Methius's Avatar
Methius Methius is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
BTW, Is there any way to use a this gif?
The Netherlands WetterOnline GIF

(I get an Failed to Load WRS java classes, when using it.)
Reply With Quote
  #502  
Old 10-27-2004, 03:55 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Since the URL contains an ampersand, you need to 'escape' it when inserting this as text in XML. This is known as xml-encoding.

Try this (replaced '&' with '&'):

Code:
http://www.wetteronline.de/daten/radar/ddlnw/std.gif?2729e62254f9cdea730fdcff05399e5d&LANG=de
Reply With Quote
  #503  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:03 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
(note my first post of the above got mucked with by the board, so be sure to use the one wrapped in the code tags)
Reply With Quote
  #504  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:12 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Quote:
Ok, it's clear now. You guys have locale settings that default the expected date format to the European standard, and weather.com is giving it to you in the U.S. standard format.
For those with the date format problem (symptom is no local conditions or forecast), try this:

a) quit SageTV
b) extract the attached zip file to your SageTV directory (preserve folders)... overwriting the existing WeatherDotCom.class file
c) start it up and test

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip WeatherDotCom-update.zip (6.1 KB, 160 views)
Reply With Quote
  #505  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:15 PM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by abasu2003
I have a feeling this is another one of those times i'm not looking hard enough but can you expand on the custom command capability?

I'm basically jsut looking for a format of how this would work, both in the Sage.Properties file and how you would access it in the UI
set the following in sage.properties (while sage is fully shut down blah blah blah)
Code:
nielm/detailview/custom_command=c\:\\temp\\test.exe
nielm/detailview/custom_command_name=test
in the detailed info for a recording, you now have a new button 'test' that will run c:\temp\test.exe with the arguments being the full pathname of the mpg file.

What you do with it is up to you
Reply With Quote
  #506  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:20 PM
Methius's Avatar
Methius Methius is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
Now only if I had a paypal account ...(The Forecast, etc, now works!)

Btw, how do I get the GIF to work? (it only displays the 1st frame in manualanimation and gives a Failed to load WRS Java classes in:
<view name="eurain" speed="1000" delay="2500" maxage="0.25">
<layer type="animation">
<image href="http://www.wetteronline.de/daten/radar/ddlnw/std.gif?2729e62254f9cdea730fdcff05399e5d&amp;LANG=de"/>
</layer>
</view>
Reply With Quote
  #507  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:25 PM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
for animated gifs the href it should be in the layer tag
Code:
<view name="eurain" speed="1000" delay="2500" maxage="0.25">
  <layer type="animation" href="http://www.wetteronline.de/daten/radar/ddlnw/std.gif?2729e62254f9cdea730fdcff05399e5d&amp;LANG=de"/>
</view>
But, even with that, the image will not display due to a bug either in the GIF, or in the gif parsing code...
Code:
com.stusals.rotan.Animation: com.stusals.gif.ParseException: Graphic Control Extension without Graphic Rendering Block.
Reply With Quote
  #508  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:28 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Seems that is so... I'm looking into it right now.
Reply With Quote
  #509  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:54 PM
Methius's Avatar
Methius Methius is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
Seems ironic that you would get better helpdesk support from hobbyists than from payed employees .

Edit: is there a way for me to load the gif file of the HD?
(this is because the gif file has a code that changes every couple of hours )

Last edited by Methius; 10-27-2004 at 05:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #510  
Old 10-27-2004, 06:10 PM
Henki Henki is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 31
WRS is working great now! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #511  
Old 10-27-2004, 06:39 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Quote:
is there a way for me to load the gif file of the HD?
(this is because the gif file has a code that changes every couple of hours )
You can load the gif file from the hard drive, but if the URL changes every couple of hours then you will need to implement some sort of process that will download the latest version of the file to your hard drive. Scheduling this is fairly straightforward, but finding the proper URL may take some effort.

The good news is that I have a fix for the GIF parsing....

I'm pretty sure the GIF is breaking the so-called rules (the standard for animated GIFs isn't so much a standard as it is a widely supported hack)... I need to do some more testing to make sure that my workaround doesn't break the parsing of valid GIFs. I'll post back when I'm comfortable with the changes.
Reply With Quote
  #512  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:01 PM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Okay, here's the proposed fix for the inability to parse Methius' animated GIF. Methius, please test. Anyone else who feels like having some fun, it would be good to hear whether or not your existing animations continue to function (I expect they will).

a) quit SageTV
b) extract the contents of the attached zip to your SageTV directory... it should overwrite the files in the com/stusals/gif directory
c) launch SageTV and test

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip gif-update.zip (27.1 KB, 150 views)
Reply With Quote
  #513  
Old 10-28-2004, 01:06 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methius
Edit: is there a way for me to load the gif file of the HD?
(this is because the gif file has a code that changes every couple of hours )
A file:/// url should do it... You might have to play around with the number of slashes, but either file://localhost/c:/temp/file.gif or file:///c:/temp/file.gif.
The tricky bit will be writing something to parse the web page to find the image URL so that you can download it to disk
Reply With Quote
  #514  
Old 10-28-2004, 03:21 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by salsbst
Okay, here's the proposed fix for the inability to parse Methius' animated GIF. Methius, please test.
Works for me...

Methius, if you do write something that grabs the latest image and saves it to disk, I would be very interested (I have yet to find a decent EU rainfall map!)
Reply With Quote
  #515  
Old 10-28-2004, 04:36 AM
Methius's Avatar
Methius Methius is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
Post

Well... The Gif works... now the grabber :-/

I'll share it if/when I finish it.. (If it's within my limit :-/)

Last edited by Methius; 10-28-2004 at 04:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #516  
Old 10-28-2004, 08:39 AM
srothwell's Avatar
srothwell srothwell is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,064
Commerical Skip help

Hi....

I hope this isn't too much of a bother, but can anyone give a step by step list of what to do to get Commercial Skip working?

I'm using neilm 1.8. I've installed the comskip.exe, comskip.ini files in the directory where .wiz file is.

I've told Sage to comm detect and it starts chunking the drive, the comm detect menu disappears, but I don't get the purple lines on the OSD saying it found anything nor to I see any of the .txt files that are supposed to be there.

I must have missed a step somewhere.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #517  
Old 10-28-2004, 08:49 AM
salsbst's Avatar
salsbst salsbst is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,592
Here's an example of the format for a URL to a local file:

href="file:/C:/Program%20Files/Frey%20Technologies/SageTV/STVs/OriginalV2/radar_key_area.gif"
Reply With Quote
  #518  
Old 10-28-2004, 10:30 AM
DIBU's Avatar
DIBU DIBU is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany / Hessen / RheinMain
Posts: 512
WRS WORKES

YES IT WORKES.. GREAT JOB... TNX




Greetings from Germany to all sage fans and to the famous developer... special greetings to nielm and all people they nake this great STV better and better...
Reply With Quote
  #519  
Old 10-28-2004, 10:46 PM
DreamWeb DreamWeb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 57
I love this addon!! I'm using the latest version.. and I still cannot get "Upcomming movies" to work in the custom menus. It just snows, "No Shows". All the other custom menus work. Anyone have any idea what might be wrong?

d.
Reply With Quote
  #520  
Old 10-29-2004, 08:14 AM
ruel ruel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 96
regarding upcoming movies, in options on that screen, you have to input the names of all of the channels that you normally watch movies on. the defaults are mplex, sho, and hbo - if you don't have those channels, then you get nothing on the screen. so you have to put in the names of the channels that you normally watch.

ruel
__________________
Visit http://ruel.net and check out the PC-TV section
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.