SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-05-2017, 05:45 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Have you tried setting seeker/fast_mux_switch=false on the main server?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-06-2017, 11:31 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Have you tried setting seeker/fast_mux_switch=false on the main server?
I tried that setting and the first test it seems to have solved the problem.

Thanks, but I still feel like there is another issue of some sort. What else can I provide to troubleshoot this one?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-06-2017, 01:09 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I tried that setting and the first test it seems to have solved the problem.

Thanks, but I still feel like there is another issue of some sort. What else can I provide to troubleshoot this one?

I assume you mean the live show transition issue seems to be gone? I expected it might, since the strange file size queries Jeff pointed out are happening when fast_mux_switch simply changes the filename for encoding. Turning that off basically causes a stop/restart for the new file if I'm reading
the code correctly.

I'm still coming up to speed on how this all works but near as I can tell, the tuners are capturing on the windows machine but streaming the data back to a "file" which is actually an "stv://" path on the Linux main server or a network share. What I haven't found is which code processes that stv URL on the server.

The Windows machine MpegMux simply calls a standard Windows library 'CreateFile' with that "stv://" path. The thing is, if it fails the return code is passed back from the mux to the Encoder but is ignored in the switchOutputFile code that calls it. I suspect there's a clue in here as to why the live show fast switch isn't working.

I could be following the code trail wrong, though at there are plenty of options.


So is issue #1 in your original post (seemingly shared channel changes) what you're concerned about? Is that still happening?

Last edited by wnjj; 03-06-2017 at 01:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-06-2017, 01:39 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
So is issue #1 in your original post (seemingly shared channel changes) what you're concerned about? Is that still happening?
That one appears to be gone. There were duplicate entries in the properties file that had more than one tuning device name. I changed those to what they should be and it seems to have corrected things.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-06-2017, 01:57 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
OK, I'm pretty sure I found the bug now...it's been there forever...apparently not many people used encoding server upload with seamless file switching on Windows....which is somewhat of a surprise.

If you look here:

https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...2Dump.cpp#L657

That's where the dumper filter that writes out the data is in the mode where it's looking for an MPEG start code where it's a clean boundary to transition from one file to the next. Once it finds it, it writes out what's left up to that point in the current file....then closes the current file and opens the new file and continues writing from there.

The problem lies here:

https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...Dump.cpp#L1102

When it closes the file...it also sets m_bRemoteFile to FALSE for some reason (likely me just trying to make the state known)...however, m_bRemoteFile has already been set to TRUE in the SetFilename method so now when OpenFile is called, it doesn't realize that it's supposed to be a remote file and tries to open the stv:// directly as a local file and will fail when it does that.

I've just checked in what should be a fix for this...but I can't compile Windows code currently so I have no way to test this.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-06-2017, 02:54 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
OK, I'm pretty sure I found the bug now...it's been there forever...apparently not many people used encoding server upload with seamless file switching on Windows....which is somewhat of a surprise.

If you look here:

https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...2Dump.cpp#L657

That's where the dumper filter that writes out the data is in the mode where it's looking for an MPEG start code where it's a clean boundary to transition from one file to the next. Once it finds it, it writes out what's left up to that point in the current file....then closes the current file and opens the new file and continues writing from there.

The problem lies here:

https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...Dump.cpp#L1102

When it closes the file...it also sets m_bRemoteFile to FALSE for some reason (likely me just trying to make the state known)...however, m_bRemoteFile has already been set to TRUE in the SetFilename method so now when OpenFile is called, it doesn't realize that it's supposed to be a remote file and tries to open the stv:// directly as a local file and will fail when it does that.

I've just checked in what should be a fix for this...but I can't compile Windows code currently so I have no way to test this.
Well then. Who do I have to bribe to get it done?

Or, what would I need to compile the windows code if nobody is willing to do it?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-06-2017, 04:56 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Well then. Who do I have to bribe to get it done?

Or, what would I need to compile the windows code if nobody is willing to do it?
There's a sticky on compiling the Windows native code. I have this and the JAR creation set up on my desktop. Granted I don't know what all is going on, but have an EXE based on the latest GitHub entries. Attached in ZIP format.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SageTV.zip (22.2 KB, 151 views)
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-06-2017, 05:22 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
There's a sticky on compiling the Windows native code. I have this and the JAR creation set up on my desktop. Granted I don't know what all is going on, but have an EXE based on the latest GitHub entries. Attached in ZIP format.
The fix Jeff made is to MPEG2Dump.ax.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-06-2017, 06:31 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
The fix Jeff made is to MPEG2Dump.ax.
Of course! Where does that .ax file go? One of the DLLs? Here's the whole build directory minus the .ax files due to space.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Release.zip (665.8 KB, 150 views)
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-06-2017, 07:10 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Of course! Where does that .ax file go? One of the DLLs? Here's the whole build directory minus the .ax files due to space.
What I meant is the fix affects MPEG2Dump.ax. Doesn't the build create MPEG2Dump.ax? If it combines with other source and compiles into another file I'm not sure which one. Just post that one file for the patch.

AX files are like DLL's (dynamic loaded binaries) but are specifically for DShow filters.

Last edited by wnjj; 03-06-2017 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 03-06-2017, 08:23 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
What I meant is the fix affects MPEG2Dump.ax. Doesn't the build create MPEG2Dump.ax? If it combines with other source and compiles into another file I'm not sure which one. Just post that one file for the patch.

AX files are like DLL's (dynamic loaded binaries) but are specifically for DShow filters.
Sure, it's attached. There are no .ax files in my production SageTV folder, though.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MPEG2Dump.zip (43.8 KB, 152 views)
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-06-2017, 09:27 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Sure, it's attached. There are no .ax files in my production SageTV folder, though.
I do not have a PC in front of me but try up a level in the Common folder

k
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-06-2017, 09:40 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Like jusjoken said, it's in SageTV/Common instead of SageTV/SageTV.

Thanks for compiling, KarylFStein.

panteragstk, give that new .ax file a shot with seeker/fast_mux_switch=true.

Last edited by wnjj; 03-06-2017 at 09:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-06-2017, 10:34 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Like jusjoken said, it's in SageTV/Common instead of SageTV/SageTV.

Thanks for compiling, KarylFStein.

panteragstk, give that new .ax file a shot with seeker/fast_mux_switch=true.
Thanks for trying, but no workie. I'm still impressed with how this community is so helpful. You guys rock...except that it doesn't work yet
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-06-2017, 10:40 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Thanks for trying, but no workie. I'm still impressed with how this community is so helpful. You guys rock...except that it doesn't work yet
You replaced the MPEG2Dump.ax in the Common directory on the encoding server? That's surprising that it didn't fix it.

I love a good puzzle. If you want to post the main and encoder server logs again with this new ax file in place I'd take another look.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-06-2017, 11:14 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
You replaced the MPEG2Dump.ax in the Common directory on the encoding server? That's surprising that it didn't fix it.

I love a good puzzle. If you want to post the main and encoder server logs again with this new ax file in place I'd take another look.
Yeah. I'm surprised as well. Puzzles are fun, but this one is frustrating because there seems to be little to go on. I'll post logs when I get a chance.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-06-2017, 11:41 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Yeah. I'm surprised as well. Puzzles are fun, but this one is frustrating because there seems to be little to go on. I'll post logs when I get a chance.

Sorry if this is insulting but I assume you restarted Sage on the encoder server after replacing the filter file?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-07-2017, 08:36 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 2,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Sorry if this is insulting but I assume you restarted Sage on the encoder server after replacing the filter file?
Also, don't .ax files need to be registered like .dll files in Windows?
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-07-2017, 09:52 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Also, don't .ax files need to be registered like .dll files in Windows?
Yes, but from what I can tell, you don't need to re-register if you are replacing one with a compatible interface. They are loaded into memory so you would have to restart the app and maybe Windows itself (doubtful)?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-07-2017, 11:14 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Sorry if this is insulting but I assume you restarted Sage on the encoder server after replacing the filter file?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Yes, but from what I can tell, you don't need to re-register if you are replacing one with a compatible interface. They are loaded into memory so you would have to restart the app and maybe Windows itself (doubtful)?
Yup. Restarted sage. It still gives an error, but the recording doesn't die like it did. It will eventually continue.

I'll restart the encoding server and re-test and attach the logs.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV as a network encoder / recording on network encoder works, not from server perfessor101 SageTV Software 0 06-21-2014 05:59 AM
Network Encoder Problem nox71 SageTV Beta Test Software 0 06-22-2010 07:23 PM
Weird Network Encoder Problem interloper SageTV Beta Test Software 0 04-09-2009 06:50 AM
HD-PVR as network encoder problem phelme Hardware Support 9 07-28-2008 12:38 AM
Problem setting up network encoder Alfiegerner SageTV Software 1 12-29-2006 11:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.