SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Old 03-01-2013, 07:42 PM
Sage User

Who will still be using SageTV in five years?

Asking because my Dish contract is up in April and I find myself at a fork in the road. Do I throw a pair of Colossus cards in my Sage server and keep it going, or do I give up on it and go with a Dish or DirecTV whole house solution?

I have no personal experience of the latter but from what I read, it seems like they still have their limitations and I could do without the monthly DVR service fee.

On the flip side I'm still loving SageTV after what must be ten years. I know I can keep it running especially as long as the forum stays around, but what about the guide data? I think that's the only part that really worries me.

Soooo,

1. Will the forums be around for a while in one form or another?
2. Any thoughts on the sustainability of the guide data for a few years?
3. I'm I asking for trouble replacing my HVR1600s with Colossuses?

Any input would be appreciated. I should mention that my internet service is over satellite with a download quota so the whole online video experience is not an option for me.

Thanks!
Old 03-01-2013, 08:23 PM
Sage Expert

A colossus is $150. I have no idea what a whole house DVR fee costs, but maybe $20 per month? More?

So if a colossus delays the DVR fee even for only 8 months, you're money ahead. I'm pretty sure the forums and probably even the guide will still be around that long.

Just my two cents.
Old 03-01-2013, 09:12 PM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by briankeys View Post