SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 05-31-2009, 08:18 PM
Sage User

Moving to Digital...or am I???

I know this has been covered elsewhere, but I don't see a full answer to this, as I am brand new to digital tv, so I don't understand some of the discussions.

I currently have 2 pvr-150s and a PVR USB2, an HD200 and a MPV and all are working great! NOw, I get a call from Comcast saying how many digital converters do you want, since they are moving to all digital.

At first I thought, great, I would replae my analog tuners with digital ones and I'd be good to go. So, I started looking for what digital tuners are being used. Then I discovered that people are saying that since Comcast is going all encrypted (except for local channels), so a tuner card won't help. I have no idea what Clear QAM is, how tuner cards are different from a digital TV, or what issues I will encounter with using the box and ir blaster. (I have read the Comcast with Sage thread, but again, I do not know enough about digital tv to apply it to me yet.)

I have no idea on how to keep my current functionality and Comcast. Can anyone help out, i.e. should I get new tuner cards, which seem to work (I'm on XP), do I keep the analog tuners and connect up to the converter boxes and basicall y keep to SD for recordings???

I'm very confused an disappointed, since I use all three tuners now and have a system that works great for me.

Thanks in advance for any help/advice anyone can offer.

Last edited by sharker; 05-31-2009 at 08:25 PM.
Old 05-31-2009, 09:25 PM
SageTVaholic