SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Old 04-24-2009, 01:59 PM
Sage Icon

Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Newbie Studio/programming questions.

I'm very new to Studio and programming in general and would very much like to learn how to use the tools made available for editing SageTV and Sage only, I'm not looking at learning to do any other sort of programming.

The biggest problem I have is understanding the java docs and what each widget requires to work, so for example:

AddStaticContext
public java.lang.Object AddStaticContext(java.lang.String Name,
java.lang.Object Value)

Breaking it down:

Public = ?? (what does this mean)
java.lang.Object = ?? (what object)

java.lang.String Name = ??
java.lang.Object Value = ??

The only way I can currently use it is to copy other peoples code then mess around with it 200 times until it actually does something I want. But by doing this I'm not actually understanding what it is I'm doing or even learning how to use it correctly.

Is there a good guide someone can recommend that will expain what all these different terms mean? Am I setting my sights too high and should I be starting further down the ladder?

Cheers

Ben
Old 04-24-2009, 02:05 PM
Sage Icon

When using an attribute widget I see various methods entered into the value box.

null
""

Attribute = AiringForBackground
Value = AiringForBackground

What do these mean?

null = searches for anything?
"" = ??
When the Attribute and Value are the same = references Objects(?) further up the widget tree and allows the use of the result elsewhere?

Cheers

Ben
Old 04-24-2009, 02:10 PM
Sage Icon

When making my imports I use:

Code: