SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 02-18-2009, 12:49 PM
Sage Advanced User

Will WHS run on my current hardware?

I am starting to get on the WHS bandwagon and ordered the 120 day eval disc. I want to try it on my current Sage server but it is not the most current spec wise. I have been running solid using win XP for about 3 yrs now and have rarely had a problem hardware wise since I now use extenders as clients and never use the server for local playback.

According to the MS WHS site my current hardware is more than the minimum required but I have read a lot of posts here and the specs are generally much more current than mine. My current Sage server is based on an AMD Xp-M 2400 that is clocked equivalent to an Athalon XP 3200 on a n Abit NF7 Mobo using 2 gigs ddr 400 mem. I plan on getting a 500 gig HD for the Operating system and making about 100 gigs the C: partition. I will add drives latter if all goes well. I will be running 2 pvr-150 tuners and one HDHR for a total of 4. I am also currently running comskip monitor.

I have to believe if my current Sage system is able to run on XP without major issues it should be ok on WHS. My logic is that I hope around the time that my 120 day WHS eval runs out I might be able to afford to upgrade to a more zippy Mobo and CPU but I want to test it out with what I have now.

Any comments or feedback would be appreciated,
Dave
Seasonic S-12 380w, NEC 3520a Onboard SoundStorm S/PDIF out
WD-Caviar 120GB IDE (System) Seagate (3) Baracuda 250GB sata (Pooled)
GF-7600gs Forceware 93.71 Nvida-Decoder V.4.02.223HDHR-Prime 3-Digital Fios ,HDhomeRun-Qam/FIOS
Clients:GA-MA78GM-S2H -AMD 4800- Sage TV Client-FireFly Remote - Amd x2 Turino LAPTOP - HD-100 + MVP Client DVR Verizon Fios/ B]
Old 02-18-2009, 01:00 PM