SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV United Kingdom
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV United Kingdom SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the UK - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in the UK.

Old 11-19-2008, 03:48 AM
Sage Expert

Question Virgin (Cable) direct input into Sage

Hi all,

I have been using sage for several years now, but recently (the past year and a half) I have had Virgins HD box, and it took over as the main way of watching and recording TV.

I use sage on an MVP in the kitchen but that is about it.

Is there any hardware out there that I could use to get the cable input directly into my Sage server?

At present I use a usb freeview stick which works pretty well, but I would really like to record the Virgin content directly into Sage (including their limited HD content).
Old 11-19-2008, 03:55 AM
Sage Expert

To input the cable directly into the PC you'd need a DVB-C card, I've not seen anyone from the UK on these forums using one. Obviously, if there is any kind of encryption that the Virgin box needs to decode then you wouldn't get those channels.

The other option would be to take the analogue signal out of the SCART socket into an analogue tune, but the picture quality will degrade, channel changing is a pain (Need an IR sender on the Virgin box) and I doubt it would do HD very well

Might be worth cancelling Virgin, get a Sky dish fitted (Just the dish, not contract) and get a DVB-S card to get all the Freesat stuff
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,
Old 11-19-2008, 04:05 AM
Sage Expert

I used to do the second option with two external freeview boxes in the early days. It was a pain! There is no way I am going down that route again.

I am completely new to the DVB-C concept! Do you plug in your cable (cable) and also slot in the card that you put in the back of the Virgin box?