SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 09-30-2008, 01:29 PM
Sage User

Noob with a few questions about server/extender setup

I am just learning about SageTV and I think it will do exactly what I have been wanting to do for a long time now but I would like some clarification on a few issues. I have Comcast cable and I am building a WHS.

1. If I run Sage Server on WHS, should I have a cable box and HD-PVR connected directly to the server or would it be better to do that on a client machine and move the recorded HD to the WHS overnight?

2. Will the media extender stream live TV if I have a cable box hooked up to the server? In other words, does having the extender replace the need for additional cable boxes? If that is possible, would watching live HD with an extender while the server is also recording be to taxing on the server's performance? If it would be too taxing then can the extender receive a stream from an client pc with a cable box attached?

3. If it can stream live TV, can it stream different shows to multiple extenders simultaneously?

4. I was using MCE2005 until my machine started acting up and I do not want to use that anymore but I really like the My Movies plugin since I can use movie posters instead of DVD covers and all the actor, plot, etc. is easy to add and edit. Does Sage have a similar plugin?

Thanks for those that take the time to respond, I really appreciate it.

Chris
Old 09-30-2008, 02:16 PM
SageTVaholic