SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Old 08-29-2008, 07:12 PM
SageTVaholic

How does Placeshifter work?

I am new to Sage and trying out some of its functions. A question about Placeshifter - it appears to require an app installed on the client. Why is this?

I have used similar apps like Webguide (for VMC/MCE) and Orb and they run through a browser on the client. This is much more platform independent and allows you to placeshift to a PocketPC, iPhone or other types of devices.

That's not going to work with Placeshifter is it?

Any chance of Sage rewriting the app so that it doesn't require software on the client?
Old 08-29-2008, 07:22 PM
SageTVaholic

Take a look at the webserver add on for SageTV. Install VLC and it can do streaming over the internet ala Orb, et al.

B
Old 08-29-2008, 07:31 PM
SageTVaholic

I have installed the webserver for SageTv and I have VLC installed on the server - does VLC need to be on the client. What else do I need to set up?
Old 08-29-2008, 09:14 PM
SageTVaholic

You do need to run the Placeshifter software on the client PC, but you don't actually need to install it. You can carry a working Placeshifter installation on a USB stick and run it from there on any Windows PC without installing anything.
Old 08-30-2008, 03:03 AM
SageTVaholic

Take a look here: http://tools.assembla.com/sageplugin...erverTranscode

B
Old 08-30-2008, 07:49 AM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post