SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 08-21-2008, 02:09 PM
Sage Advanced User

Live HD programming?

Not sure which forum to post this in, apologies if this is the wrong one...

I'm fairly new to the whole PVR thing, but have the following in mind yet don't understand how it's possible:

HTPC with SageTV. "Feed" that with output of my satellite STB. Prefer this gear all be in a utility area of the house, therefore use an HD100 Media Extender at my TV to source everything from the HTPC. So far, I understand this fine. I can understand how the Media Extender will pull content from the HTPC - SD and HD files and even live SD content from the STB - However... how do I get the HD output of my STB into the HTPC? I know I can get a Hauppauge HD DVR to sort of do this if I'm prepared to record the content (and watch it later). But what about live HDTV? How can I watch that via the Media Extender? I guess that's my fundamental question - how do I watch live HD satellite content via the Media Extender?

RLW
Old 08-21-2008, 05:58 PM
Sage Advanced User

It can be a bit confusing to start but I'll try to help make sense.