SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Old 06-05-2008, 08:48 PM
Sage Icon

Un Sage network inquiry

I'm no expert (probably know just enough to be dangerous).

My wife works for a Dr office. She spends some days in the office and some days at home. She was basically "kicked out" of the office because of a lack of space. So when she is there, she uses a laptop that they leave running when she is not there so she can RDP into it from one of our computers at home. This seems like a crazy arrangement to me. How hard would it be (this is a small office) to set up a VPN for this? I assumed this is pretty straight forward, but have never really investigated the actual process. At the most, I thought they might have to get a new router and maybe a new one for our house as well. Then I thought she could use the laptop here just like she does when she is in the office.

Couple concerns -
on my end, this needs to coexist with my existing home network... can't have her work interfering with my Sage network

Privacy - they seem to be paranoid about patient records... but I suspect any VPN solution would be as secure as RDP, no?

By the way, I use my work laptop from home using a secure ID token to have full access to all of my office network functionality, so I know it is not undoable (but I work for a slightly larger company).
Old 06-06-2008, 05:54 AM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by briands View Post
I'm no expert (probably know just enough to be dangerous).