SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 04-28-2008, 02:28 PM
Sage User

New to Media Storing and SageTV

Hello all!

I am new to the whole media sharing and storing and SageTV scene. I was hoping someone could help me out and point me in the right direction given my current situation.

I purchased a Windows Home Server, and have that up and running. I would like to store all media on it, including recorded TV, ripped DVDs, music, photos, files, etc.

That said, I also have a home theater PC we have been using as our main place for storing videos, as well as it has a tv tuner card in it for watching our cable. This computer is currently running Vista Ultimate.

I am wondering what I would need in order to be able to get cable from any networked computer (presumably utilizing the home server), as well as be able to call up any ripped DVD that I want that would be stored with its information (cover, short info, etc.) on the server as well. I also have a TV in my bedroom that is currently standalone with a cable input. I am looking to add some sort of extender or a small pc in order to access all content on that TV as well.