SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 01-31-2008, 07:26 PM
Sage User

Several extender questions for noob

I've been running a stand alone SageTV client for several years and it's great. Lately, I've been thinking about turning it into a server and running extenders to all of the house TVs. So, I've got a couple of questions that are probably answered elsewhere, but I can't find.

1) Do you lose anything by using the extender as opposed to a client PC (except for the DVD thing, which I know about)?

2) Do the extender boxes put any stress on the server CPU? I know that more streams would tax the HDDs and Ethernet more, but can I run a wimpy CPU and still serve several Sage streams?

3) How much bandwidth does the SD and HD extenders really use? Can you run >1 HD extender off a 10/100 network or do you need a GB setup?

4) How crash prone do the extenders seem to be? I've read the posts around here and there seem to be some problems with the HD boxes, but it's hard for me to tell if those problems are really wide-spread or really rare. The WAF would really suffer if they crash.

Thanks for any and all info or advice.
Old 02-01-2008, 06:50 AM
Sage Aficionado

I only use extenders (1 HD, 4 MVPs). I think this is a great solution and have been very happy.

1 - on an MVP, you lose the animations. Also, some DVD menus don't work properly and require a little finesse to get what you want (vast majority work fine... just a few don't).