SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 01-19-2004, 06:52 PM
Sage User

DScaler/Elecard or other optimization beneficial for DLP Samsung with DVI from ATI??

I have been using SageRecorder for up to 9 months now.....but I am going to step up to SageTV, and in doing so, I am starting to go back and optimize many aspects of my home theater SetUp.

In reviewing the forums there are always many discussions on picture quality optimization, tools like elecard/dscaler, ffdshow....etc. Much of this seems confusing to me....and I am not sure that with my set-up I can optimize any further.......so here is my question.

GIVEN...that I am running Sage on a PVR350 capture card with SVideo input from Samsung SIR-TS160 DTV box, and output with an ATI AIW 7500 via the DVI port to a Samsung HLM series DLP tv with DVI input (therefore true 720p native with the 1280 by 720 setting) and catalyst 3.9 ..... IS THERE ANY BENEFIT AT ALL to using other than the stock capabilities of Sage ....i.e. is it worth the effort to try elecard, dscaler, etc. etc. given my TV has 3:2 pulldown, DVDi by Faroudja, and all this other sexy stuff I don't understand....

Obviously, I want to optimize my PQ....we all always want to be running at the best we can. But I am concerned that I may not benefit at all from time spent, and actually end up worse off.