SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 11-25-2007, 09:15 AM
Sage Aficionado

WHS and SageTV Performance

I've been running SageTV on my Windows Home Server for several months now and, in general, I am quite pleased with the setup. I have noticed though a loss of performance (studdering video, freeze ups) when my media extender is powering up and when it goes into 'balancing storage' mode. It's starting to impact the WAF. Anyone running WHS have some performance tips for me? I'm running an Athlon64 3000+ with 1GB of RAM. Server has a total of 2.66TB of storage. SageTV recordings drive is 300GB unmanaged by WHS.
Old 11-26-2007, 02:37 PM
Sage User

Don't know if this will help - but I can share some experiences.

I had a somewhat similar experience as you in my first WHS install. All disks where managed and formatted in 64k sectors. I had stuttering and pauses, sometimes frequently. I added the WHS toolkit and run the Server Storage Diagnostics and got a terrible report - a massive amount of files with tombstone problems. Also I typically run into trouble each Sunday morning - the backup cleanup failed, and all backups had to be deleted.
Anyway - I reinstalled everything, let the 4x 500GB drives be managed on default 4k sectors and made a span of 2x 300GB unmanaged drives formatted in 64k sectors. These last disks are ONLY used by SageTV for recordings. Downloads, rips and edits are stored in the managed area (SageTV import directories set up here).