SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Old 11-06-2007, 03:40 AM
Sage Advanced User

Naughty Placeshifter Offers Deletions!

I am very new to SageTV and will begin building my HTPC to eventually replace my three ReplayTVs. I recently downloaded the placeshifter trial to see if I would like to incorporate it in my set up. I got a friend to also download the trial to test out how it truly works remotely. I have several questions about it's behaviour.
1. When I connect via lan, no problems. I tried connecting via internet from another home pc, would not connect. Is it impossible to connect via internet if both computers are located at the same ip address?

2. I had set up STV not to automatically delete anything and not to allow deleting of things in the import directories. When I browse my media center imports, delete is never an option. I was horrified to find out that when my friend connected via internet, deletions were an option and allowed. I do not want any items to be allowed to be deleted from the import directories under any circumstance. What is causing this malfunction?

3. Is there an option to set permissions for placeshifter users, like user accounts in windows?
Old 11-06-2007, 04:07 AM
SageTVaholic

1. I'm able to connect via Internet from my home LAN without issues. Are you trying to do it by IP address or FQDN, or by SageTV locator? Have you checked your firewall settings?

2. I'm not sure what you mean when you say you configured Sage not to allow deletions in the import directories. I'm not aware of any such option in the standard UI. Are you using a custom UI, or any UI add-ons?