SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2007, 09:49 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,997
Emulator Game Menu Creator.

Scripts to create Menuitems for game emulators.

There is no need to touch or change the script. All changes are done via the batch file. Example Below. Along with explainations.

PS if your file names contain & then it will fail. I renamed my & to and


Usage -Needs Dynamic Menus by Nielm

1. Setup Batchfile. (if you do not have images you can just set images=c:\temp"
2. Run it will create a games.xml in c:\temp
3. Open up games.xml in notepad or wordpad. Select all and copy to clipboard.
4. Paste a new menu item in Sage. Viola you have a full list of games. Save menu file.



set menuname="Nintendo"
set rompath="c:\roms\Nintendo"
set emulatorexe="c:\nestopia\nestopia.exe"
set images="c:\roms\Nintendo"

rem ... make sure to end emulatorargs with trailing space
set emulatorargs=" "

rem ... make sure to start emulatorarg2s with space
set emulatorargs2=" "

set sleepsage=1
set disablefullscreen=1
set confirmprompt=1

creategameNew.vbs %rompath% %emulatorexe% %emulatorargs% %menuname% %emulatorargs2% %sleepsage% %disablefullscreen% %confirmprompt% %images%

CreateNes.bat
set menuname= > Menu Name
set rompath=" > path to your Roms
set emulatorexe > your emulator executable

set emulatorargs="" - Arguments before rom file
set emulatorargs2="" Arguments after rom file

0=No 1=yes
set sleepsage=0 > Sleeps Sage
set disablefullscreen=0 > windows Sage on load of game restores after game is closed

set confirmprompt=0 > Adds a confirmation when selecting a game yes or cancel


SageMC uses its own place to store Icons images etc... It is not themed to the default stv. In the SageTV default Dynamic menus you can tell it where to find the images SAGEMC doesn't seem to honor this. I have some new scripts. The only way to get the Images to show up in SageMC is to copy the images over to the SAGMC default menuicons folder

ex.
C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\SageMCE\Themes\Default\MenuIcons\gamesimages\snes

using the script attached the batch file would look something like this... Pay special attention to the set images

set menuname="Nintendo"
set rompath="c:\roms\Nintendo"
set emulatorexe="c:\nestopia\nestopia.exe"
set images="gamesimages\snes"

rem ... make sure to end emulatorargs with trailing space
set emulatorargs=" "

rem ... make sure to start emulatorarg2s with space
set emulatorargs2=" "

set sleepsage=1
set disablefullscreen=1
set confirmprompt=1
Download here
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Gamemenu.JPG (54.4 KB, 1108 views)
File Type: jpg Gamelist.JPG (77.2 KB, 1007 views)
File Type: jpg confirmprompt.JPG (77.4 KB, 915 views)
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 09-16-2009 at 01:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2007, 11:06 AM
technazz's Avatar
technazz technazz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, ON, CA
Posts: 499
Ok.

Looks good..couple of questions..


Do this support MAME?

Can you modify to also proeview a screenshot of the games. They are usually included in the ROMS?

Would be slick.

Technazz
__________________
SageTV V9.xx 2 x HD300's, 2 x Nvidia Shields Running Mini Client
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2007, 11:10 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,997
It supports any Command line emulator. As far as screenshots etc.. I am not that advanced in how sage works. Maybe one of the Pros can figure a way.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2007, 12:09 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,997
I was able to get it to display Images. More like icons. Download here

Here is my sample Script. I added a new variable set images=. This is the name of the Directory where you have the images.

There is one catch the images have to be placed in a directory in the sage folder ex: C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\STVs\Nes_Images. I tried using an external folder but it appears Dynamic Menus looks for the Icons under the sage folder


set menuname="Nintendo"
set rompath="C:\Games\Roms\Nintendo_Entertainment_System"
set emulatorexe="C:\Games\Nestopia\nestopia.exe"
set images="Nes_Images"

set emulatorargs=""
set emulatorargs2=""

set sleepsage=0
set disablefullscreen=0
set confirmprompt=1

creategamemenuI.vbs %rompath% %emulatorexe% %emulatorargs% %menuname% %emulatorargs2% %sleepsage% %disablefullscreen% %confirmprompt% %images%
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image1.JPG (74.4 KB, 762 views)
File Type: jpg image2.JPG (71.0 KB, 664 views)
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-26-2007 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:48 PM
technazz's Avatar
technazz technazz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, ON, CA
Posts: 499
Cool Ill have to try once I get back from Vacation.

Thanks

Technazz
__________________
SageTV V9.xx 2 x HD300's, 2 x Nvidia Shields Running Mini Client
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:51 PM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
it appears Dynamic Menus looks for the Icons under the sage folder
um, yeah, sorry.

I will try to do something about that in a future version sometime.
(PS: nice tool!)
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2007, 02:59 PM
theagc theagc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
can anyone provide a link to download the games?

My son may found this intresting, but creating the menues without having the games will give him nothing :-)

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2007, 09:49 PM
WRZFCABLE's Avatar
WRZFCABLE WRZFCABLE is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4
Having all kinds of problems I have about 900 NES ROMS. and I got nestopia on the system it reads the nes files ok.
Now how do I incorporate the Menu into the Sagetv.xml
I have all the files in the c:/games/rom/etc......DIR
and c:/games/nestopia/nestopia.exe etc.,....
THen it says to cut and paste the text from the game.xml to the sage.
but where to you cut it and where to do paste it into sage tv.
Then.....
set menuname="Nintendo"
set rompath="C:\Games\Roms\Nintendo_Entertainment_System"
set emulatorexe="C:\Games\Nestopia\nestopia.exe"
All that code where does it go. There is no explanation.
Can someone explain step by step how to install this game system please. It is kinda confusing.
Thanks in advance
WRZF
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2007, 07:06 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,997
WRZFCABLE ,

First and foremost you have to use and be familiar with Nielm's Dynamic Menus.

1. Setup Batchfile. Change to wherever your games and Emulators are.

set menuname="Nintendo"
set rompath="C:\Games\Roms\Nintendo_Entertainment_System"
set emulatorexe="C:\Games\Nestopia\nestopia.exe"

set emulatorargs=""
set emulatorargs2=""

set sleepsage=0
set disablefullscreen=0
set confirmprompt=0


2. Run it will create a games.xml in c:\temp

3. Open up games.xml in notepad or wordpad. Select all and copy to clipboard.

4. Paste a new menu item in Sage. Viola you have a full list of games. Save menu file.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-05-2007 at 07:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:40 PM
WRZFCABLE's Avatar
WRZFCABLE WRZFCABLE is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4
Still not getting it

I downloaded those programs and read intensly about them.
Still didn't get it. I am about ready to give up.
Thanks for your help anyway.
best regards
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-19-2007, 11:04 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,997
WRZFCABLE,

I am sorry you having trouble... but in order to make this work you must use Neilm's Dynamic menu and have some knowledge on how to create a basic menuitem. I need more information from you.

Are you using Dynamic menus?

Have you ever created an Item in the menus before?
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-20-2007, 07:51 PM
WRZFCABLE's Avatar
WRZFCABLE WRZFCABLE is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4
Dynamic Menus

Well...
Unfortunately I I have not done that before.
I am still trying to get it to work.
I guess I am just not that technically inclined.
But I think with your help I might get this. (-;
Just a side note will these games play on a placeshifter being loaded on the main system.
Still mushing threw this.

Thanks in advance.....

wrzfcable
34000 customers and growing.

(-;
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-22-2007, 06:28 AM
Stratty Stratty is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
I am just about 3/4 of the way through setting this up on my system. Some hints for you WRZFCABLE:

1. When installing the dynamic menue's pluging be sure to grab the correct version for your instance of sage. (Embarrasingly I spent 1 hour and a complete re-install of sage before I realized that I was trying to import the 6.x version on my 5.x sage client... DOH).

2. Take the advice above and create a few menue's using the Nielm's plugin to become familiar with the interface. Its a powerfull tool, your mind will boggle at the options it opens up to you.

3. I suggest starting out with creating a menue item that just starts your emulator program without specifying the game or extentions. Play around with the emulator and close it. Does sage come back to the way you left it?

4. Keep in mind that not all emulators are created equal and in my experience all are a bit flakey (nature of the beast). I have had sage show up as a "black screen" after exiting the emulator a few times.

5. Keep the program "Joy2Key" in mind. I bound one of my gamepads buttons to the ESC key using this program. ESC exits my emulator program if started from the command prompt. Its a gracefull way for me to get back into Sage.

6. Before you start integrating with Sage, open the emulator program with the sage client shut down. Configure your display setting, gampad maps, etc. Once you have your emulator set the way you like it THEN start work on the integration.

Once you have done the above you will start to see where NYPlayers script comes in real handy (especially with big ROM collections).

I have not run the entire "auto menu item" creation script yet... I am still pruning my ROM collection before running it. Big kudos to NYPlayer and Nielm for the "outside the box" thinking and excellent programming.

Stratty
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-22-2007, 06:32 AM
Stratty Stratty is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
One More Thing...

NYPlayer, I have just one thought for your script. I have modified my confirmation text to ask if the controller was ready before launching the game. I am using the XBOX 360 wireless remote and if I launch the emulator before it is turn on its a hassel. Serves the same purpose as confirming game launch but is also a reminder to have the controllers ready.

Just a thought - thanks for your contribution!

Stratty
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-19-2007, 10:32 PM
WRZFCABLE's Avatar
WRZFCABLE WRZFCABLE is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4
Game Menu

STRATTY!!
Thanks so much for that info I am truly sorry I have not had time to get back to you sooner. Been busy with setting up FIBER in other gated communities.
I will try that process and see how it goes.
I hope I can figuare this one out. (-;

Question. Will this work with a Sage Client. e.g. can I play the games from my laptop by connecting to the master server where the roms are stored?

Best Regards,
WRZFCABLE
41,000 Customers and growing.


btw.. will this work with SClient also....

Last edited by WRZFCABLE; 08-19-2007 at 10:44 PM. Reason: need to ask another question..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-04-2007, 02:10 PM
JBaughb JBaughb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Awesome script. It works great for nextopia but im having issues with snes9x..

it loads the program fine but wont load any ROMs.
Here is a copy of the games.xml (for one game)
The program does support commands via command line.
any idea what could be going on?


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE sageMenu PUBLIC "-//NIELM//DTD SAGEMENU XML 1.4//EN" "http://www.sage-community.org/~nielm/nielm_modules/dynamic_menu/sagemenu_1_3.dtd">
<sageMenu version="1.4">
<subMenuItem title="Super Nintendo">
<menu title="Super Nintendo">
<actionMenuItem title="Legend of Zelda, The - A Link to the Past">
<actionList>
<extCommand arguments="-s &quot;E:\Roms\SNES Games\Legend of Zelda, The - A Link to the Past.zip&quot; " command="C:\Program Files\SNES9x\SNES9x.exe" waitforexit="1" window="normal"/>
</actionList>
</actionMenuItem>
<!-- -->
</menu>
</subMenuItem>
</sageMenu>
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-04-2007, 03:49 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,997
JBaughb,

Try the attached batch and script. It should work let me know either way.

Just fill in the rom path in the batch file.
Attached Files
File Type: zip CreateGameMenu.zip (1.5 KB, 372 views)
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:28 PM
JBaughb JBaughb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
that works perfect. thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-28-2008, 10:57 PM
boognish boognish is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Thanks for making this!! gonna use it soon to setup all my roms. I would love covers for my games. does anyone know of a good resource for large packs of covers? ive got the complete snes pack and would hate to have to search for them all
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-30-2008, 01:14 PM
opensourc opensourc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8
help

if this thread is still open someone please help me.

batch file does not create games.xml in C:\temp

im running sage 6 and vista

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Video Editing for Sage BobPhoenix SageTV Customizations 279 03-07-2013 01:35 PM
STV: SageMC 16x9 Version 6.x (latest dev build) dflachbart SageMC Custom Interface 6112 04-04-2008 11:16 PM
AWTThread Hang Detected - Problem getting out of hand! MTuckman SageTV Beta Test Software 11 01-04-2007 04:58 PM
STV Import: Menu Shortcut Bars BobPhoenix SageTV Customizations 9 09-05-2006 04:46 PM
STV: SageMC 16x9 11/26/2005 Sage 4.x Version 5_10 mlbdude SageMC Custom Interface 2160 09-01-2006 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.