SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 04-16-2006, 11:07 AM

Help! How to "operate/modify" HTPC remotely over network???

Hi all! Newbie here! Just got my HTPC built up and running
(probably more like "up and crawling" at this point)

The HTPC box is very quiet and as such, is sitting next to the big screen in a seperate room. It's a pain in the arse to muddle around with settings, installing software, ripping DVD's etc at that location. Since the whole house is networked, I'd love to be able to somehow "take over" the HTPC from my workhorse PC in another room, and perform all the mods, setups, etc, from here!

I know this is more of a Windows kind of question but I was hoping I could get an answer here.

Thanks!!!
Old 04-16-2006, 11:28 AM
Sage Fanatic

The two best options are Windows Remote Desktop if you're running XP or VNC if you're running anything else.
Old 04-16-2006, 12:03 PM
Sage Aficionado

I'm a big fan of UltraVNC:

http://ultravnc.sourceforge.net/

it's free, fast and easy to use - I use it to manage 3 servers tucked in a wiring closet.
Basement: HD Extender connected to Dell projector.
Back room: MVP 1000 hooked to 21" CRT TV.
Bedroom: MVP 1000 hooked to 27" CRT TV.
Old 04-17-2006, 08:39 PM
Sage Aficionado

There's an easy trick to get winxp to allow a more then 1 simultaneous user with remote desktop: see google. It works great I use it ALL the time.

It will allow you to do things with the htpc remotely under another account, eg. user_remote, while the htpc sw (sagetv) continues on normally logged in as user....which means someone can watch tv uninterrupted. It makes me angry that xp pro does not include that capability out of the box....
Old 04-17-2006, 08:59 PM
SageTVaholic