SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2005, 10:09 PM
afinemetsfan afinemetsfan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Return to CurrentFolder?

So here is what I want to do - Return to the current sub folder in the imported videos after watching a video, instead of the root view of the imported videos. Any suggestions? Im thinking it has to do with CurrentVideo tag.


Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2005, 09:52 AM
malore's Avatar
malore malore is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 877
Whoops, I was answering 2 post with similars titles and I replaced the wrong post.

He was my original answer:

The easiest way is to do a search for IsVideoFile(MediaFile) && IsLibraryFile(MediaFile) and replace the link to Video Library with the action SageCommand("Back")

So:
IsVideoFile(MediaFile) && IsLibraryFile(MediaFile)
Video Library

Becomes:
IsVideoFile(MediaFile) && IsLibraryFile(MediaFile)
SageCommand("Back")

Last edited by malore; 11-17-2005 at 12:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:28 AM
mlbdude's Avatar
mlbdude mlbdude is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 4,174
That works as long as you stayed in the full screen video menu the whole time the video played.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2005, 11:38 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
Was this meant for the thread about the mlbdude 2-pane recordings list? (The question here was about the video library.)

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2005, 12:06 PM
malore's Avatar
malore malore is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 877
Thanks Opus4, that explains why mlbdude's response didn't orginally make sense to me. I've put my first post back to what my original answer was.

As mlbdude points out this is just a simple hack that relies on the previous menu being the video menu.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:34 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
This ought to work -- in the "Video Library Folder View" menu, do the following:
  • Edit the CurrentFolder attribute widget's properties & set its Value to CurrentVideoFolder.
  • Add a new Hook to the "Video Library Folder View" menu. Set it to BeforeMenuUnload.
  • Under that new hook, add an Action widget:
    Code:
    AddGlobalContext("CurrentVideoFolder", CurrentFolder)
You could do this with a "last_video_lib_dir" property instead of the global variable -- then it would remember your location the next time you start SageTV also. The downside is that you could end up with a blank list if that imported dir is removed, but using Left or Back one or more times ought to get back to a valid dir.

You could also add similar functionality to the Photo library this way.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:20 PM
afinemetsfan afinemetsfan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Awesome, thanks for the help, this worked as far as I can tell -hopefully I dont find any wierd behavior. This is one of the things that has really been bugging me about Sage. But thanks to Studio, little things like this can be fixed to ones taste.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:01 AM
alan92rttt alan92rttt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 65
I think I did this properly but it did not work. ANy clue what I missed ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:29 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
If you go into a video library sub menu & then go directly to the Main Menu via the Home command (or click on the SageTV logo), does it remember your location when you return to the video library? For some reason, it isn't getting set when it jumps to the playback OSD menu.

Edit: Oh, it has to do with the pop-up dialog where you select the Watch Now option. I'll look at it again when I'm actually awake.

Edit 2: There may be a better solution, but considering I'm still somewhat asleep...

Search for the "REM Show pop-up dialog with options available for the current Airing / MediaFile" reference in the "Video Library Folder View" menu. Right above it, add another action with the same AddGlobalContext() API call from the BeforeMenuUnload hook. (The whole current context gets cleared either by the OptionsMenu or the Panel where the Watch Now button is.)

Update: v4.1.5 fixed the problem encountered here, so you no longer have to add the extra call to AddGlobalContext() described in this post.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2006, 11:01 AM
alan92rttt alan92rttt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 65
I can not find that referance in "Video Library Folder View" I can only find it in the menu "ParallenScheduled"
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-15-2006, 01:46 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
If you right click on the bolded primary reference widget, you will get an option to highlight all the references.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:25 PM
alan92rttt alan92rttt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 65
got it, that worked.

It holds the value even if I go home and reselect that menusystem.

is there a way to clear it when I select the imported videos menu? Is there a deleteglobalcontext?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:10 PM
aperry's Avatar
aperry aperry is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 680
Well, after much searching, I at least finally found what Andy referenced in the menus. I added the additional item you referenced a few messages above, and it's working now! This is great, probably my most wanted feature from SageTV, to return to the folder I was in if I watch something in the Media Center.

Awesome, simply awesome... Thanks Andy!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:37 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan92rttt
It holds the value even if I go home and reselect that menusystem.

is there a way to clear it when I select the imported videos menu? Is there a deleteglobalcontext?
Well, that's the side effect -- it will remember your location no matter what else you do, short of exiting SageTV.

If you want it to clear its directory memory whenever you go to a specific menu (Main Menu, perhaps), then just add code there that sets the global variable to null. You could do that anywhere you want.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:42 PM
alan92rttt alan92rttt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
If you want it to clear its directory memory whenever you go to a specific menu (Main Menu, perhaps), then just add code there that sets the global variable to null. You could do that anywhere you want.

- Andy
That is what I figured I'd have to do but I'm not sure what step(s) that will require.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-15-2006, 04:13 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan92rttt
That is what I figured I'd have to do but I'm not sure what step(s) that will require.
Pretty much what I described above, except you could use the before or after menu load hooks in the Main Menu.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:58 PM
alan92rttt alan92rttt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 65
I figured it out.


I was trying to set it to an empty string not a null.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.