SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Old 10-26-2005, 10:12 PM
Sage Aficionado

STV Summary/Bells & Whistles

I am relatively new to this. My experience consists of about 3-4 months of rebuilding a PC for my new hobby (a HTPC) and experimenting with a variety of software (Beyond TV, gbPVR, BeyondTV, etc.) and decided Sage was the one for me!

Now, as I dig deeper into Sage and all that it can do, I could use a little help (please keep in mind my limited experience).

Has anyone compiled a list of available STVs along with a feature or pro/con list comparison?

I have tried a few...
Cayars - I found the "everything but the kitchen sink" approach to be very overwhelming and well, need a very high WAF. And, well, i foudn the user interface to be overly complex.
Malore's - I found the menu setup to not be as pleasing as I have found others (sorry).
mlbdude's - I really liked this one a lot format wise. But, I am not entirely sure what all it can/can't do.

Have seen something about SageMC...have not tried this yet...am a bit confused...is this the same as mlbdude's or something else?

My ideal feature list....
1) Be able to play personal DVDs stored on my hard drive and have them show up in the video list with a .jpg to help identify the DVD.
2) Weather integration (nice to see as a core component in the latest beta release )
3) Built in commercial skip for Live TV (as well as commerical skipping for recorded shows)