SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 02-01-2005, 01:14 PM
Sage User

Possible Memory Leak?

Hey! I'm still fairly new at SageTV, almost had it for a month now!

For the most part I'm fairly happy with it, but I have noticed some strange freezes and slow downs.

I'm using a PVR 500 (The new one with dual 150 tuners). I have the nvidia codec. Using a AMD 1800+ 512mb ram and an ATI 9000 pro 128mb vid card with DVI output.

I've noticed that SageTV becomes insanely slow, or will actually freeze. If I sit there and wait long enough (Longest has been almost 8 minutes) it will eventually respond and start whatever process I had asked it to do. I notice this more if it has been running, even in sleep mode, for longer than 5 hours. The problem gradually increases the longer the system is up. A quick reboot seems to remedy the problem, with only the occasional hic-up after an hours usage.

Most common problems: Freeze in starting a STV recording. Long Pause to view list of STV recording (very very long pause), Long pause or occasional freeze to go from a Recording to detail information, main menu, or back to STV recording list.

The issue seems fairly consistent. I thought this was a WinXp issue, but STV seems to be the only product that is effected. Is this due to STV using Java or is their an actual leak in STV.

Recommendations? (More Ram is not an option here)
Old 02-01-2005, 02:31 PM
Administrator