SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 09-26-2021, 02:50 PM
Sage User

Total newbie -- Need a 101 please

Background:
- I used Ceton PCIe 4-tuner and Windows Media Center from a very very, long time ago
- Upgraded to Ceton 6-tuner ethernet/external version, lots of tinkering with attenuators, super annoying
- Hacked WMC onto Win10, super annoying
- Eventually went to HDHR Prime 3-tuner with much better experience
- Finally cut the cord and over a year later I want OTA HD now
- Do a ton of streaming, but would love some of the free OTA, especially sports on national TV channels

I picked up an HD Antenna for OTA and did a dry run with it hooked up to my TV. Saw some HD but was digital scrambling, but b/c I had the antenna on the 1st room floor. I assume it'll be much better once I mount it on the roof (would like to within a couple of weeks in case I need to return the antenna).

What I need:
- DVR
- Share OTA to other computers or other devices

What I have:
- ESXi server in basement: Not sure, but I could pass-through a tuner card to a VM if that's possible, not necessary. Server has ZFS on it with plenty of space over SMB shares
- Have a Synology NAS that I back up my ZFS file server too, but can use this for storage also
- HTPC: Lenovo ThinkCentre M75q Tony, Ryzen 5 Pro 3400GE v/Radeon Vega, 16GB RAM, NVMe, can hook up an external drive if I can't do SageTV recordings to SMB on my file server or NAS