SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 01-08-2011, 04:51 PM
Sage Advanced User

Networking Help!

Okay, I first have to preface this post by saying I'm a total amateur when it comes to networking.

I started looking into why I had some stuttering when playing DVDs on my HD300 being served across my network from my SageTV server. The SageTV folks had me run iperf to measure the speed of my connection between the HD300 and my SageTV server. The speeds it measures is in/around 10 Mbytes/sec, and for the life of me I can't get that number to be any higher than that, and I'm guessing that this is one reason why DVDs might stutter on playback, right?

I have a Cisco wireless gigabit router with 4 wired connections (WRT610 is the specific model number). My SageTV server has a gigabit ethernet which the router appears to confirm for me that it's connecting at a gigabit connection (because the lights on the router are green when it's a gigabit connection, blue if 10/100 connection). My house is brand new and wired with cat5 wiring to all the rooms. To first make sure I could rule out a faulty wiring, I took all my equipment into my office, connected it all directly to the router rather than going through the house wiring, and I still get 10 Mbytes/sec. Next, I took a wireless-N USB and connected that to my server (literally 3 feet away from my router), and I still got around 10 Mbytes/sec. In other words, I can't get anything more than 10 Mbytes/sec through my router. Doesn't this sound slow?