SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 12-11-2009, 01:17 PM
Sage User

Will firewire recording from a STB work for me?

First, I'm brand new to Sage TV (well, techincally I haven't even installed it yet... I'm still trying to evaluate whether it will work for me or not). My end goal is to get a whole house HD DVR. The HD200's look like they'll do well to distribute video through my house, so right now I'm basically trying to figure out how to get my content recorded.

Like I said, I want to be able to record HD content and right now I have a dual tuner SD Tivo (Which this would be replacing), so I want to have at least two tuners and even three or four would be better, especially since I plan to distribute this to all or most of the TV's in the house.

I have cable service from Brighthouse (in central FL) and from what I see online they provide very little, if anything in clear QAM, so I think I'm going to need a cable box. (Right now I just get their standard analog package with no cable box, so I'm not even sure what box I would get).

The wife isn't quite sold on SageTV yet (or even replacing the Tivo, for that matter), so the budget I have right now is pretty low. HD-PVR's aren't cheap and getting two would really be stretching the budget and three or four would be out of the question.

I just spent a lot of time reading the huge STB Firewire thread and it looks like it's working for some people, but I'm still left with some questions: