SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 04-05-2004, 03:40 PM
Sage User

Video Distribution??

Relative newbie here. I have been searching through these forums to understand how people do video distribution with SageTV. My computer is in my office and my 2 TV's are in different rooms. Apart from have two more computers to stream the video to, is there an easy way to distribute the Video throughout the house? I dont need 2 tuners, the same signal on both with suffice. Ideally this would be done through a wireless network to some "device" that hooked up to the TV. HDTV would be even better, but I wont get my hopes up So what are my alternatives besides running cables (that would be too long)? Thanks for the help!

Eric
Old 04-05-2004, 06:13 PM
SageTVaholic

Well, the most versitile way is to run SageClient on each display, this will require building computers to act as clients for each TV, you'd just need to install SageClient on the other PCs. This will give you access to the full Sage UI, including EPG, recorded programs, Live TV, video/music library, etc. This will also allow HDTV hopefully once SageTV supports HDTV.

A cheaper solution would be to get Hauppauge MediaMPVs for the TVs. You'd still have access to all recorded programs, but not the Sage UI.

Regardless, you'll need at least 802.11G to stream video, 11B just isn't fast enough. Even with G you'd probably be pushing it running 4 streams simultaneously. Keep in mind you should only expect about 4Mbps with B, 20-30Mbps with G, and that Sage recordings run up to 12Mbps with 6Mbps being the sweet spot and HDTV is 19.4Mbps.
Old 04-05-2004, 06:38 PM
Sage User