SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Old 09-15-2008, 08:47 AM
Sage User

Netflix and VGA hack

I've been running Sage for a couple of years now and an quite satisfied. I recently switched from Blockbuster On-Line to Netflix and was looking into their "Watch Instantly" option. I hadn't planned on running it under Sage but found I can't run it at all on my HTPC. My only option for video out to TV is S-Video. Netflix requires VGA output. Running with both TV with S-Video and an LCD monitor with VGA out works, but I don't want a computer monitor in the TV room. I'm wondering if I can fool Netflix into thinking I have a VGA monitor attached. I found a site www.tvtool.info that made up a dummy VGA plug to do this They jumped the red, green and blue pin outs to the red, green and blue grounds with three 75 Ohm resistors between. I'm no electrical engineer and don't know if this will work or blow-up my VGA card. I'm sure there must be some EE's on this forum that can give me some advise.
Thanks in advance.
Jim B
Old 09-15-2008, 09:22 AM
Sage Advanced User

There should be no issue in making a dongle like that.

Basically, you are terminating the signals with 75 Ohm impedance, which matches the impedance of a cable hooked up to a monitor. There's no guarantee that something as simple as that will work for every video card, I run into issues on my Macbook Pro where if I don't have a proper EDID signal, the computer will not turn on the video output.

I'm an EE and I work with Video almost day in and day out. I wouldn't worry about damaging anything with the dongle.

3x HD100 HD Extenders
Old 09-17-2008, 08:35 AM
Sage User

Netflix and VGA