SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 07-18-2008, 08:30 AM
Sage User

Switch from BTV to Sage how to?

Hi, Sage newbie here.

I'm a longtime BTV user and I am looking to switch to Sage. The HD set top box sage has looks awesome.

Is there a guide or tutorial anywhere that explains the difference's in features between BTV and sage?

I currently have BTV, BTV Link, Beyond Media and several firefly's.

Basically what do I need to buy to keep the same feature sets. Looks like with sage you have to add a plug in for commercial skip, stuff like that.

If this has been asked before, I apologize. I did a couple of searches and didn't see anything.

Thanks
Dennis
Old 07-18-2008, 08:46 AM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by dheinle View Post
Hi, Sage newbie here.

I'm a longtime BTV user and I am looking to switch to Sage. The HD set top box sage has looks awesome.

Is there a guide or tutorial anywhere that explains the difference's in features between BTV and sage?
Hi Dennis, I'm a former BeyondTV user also (still own it and do beta testing for BTV) and now use SageTV as my primary HTPC. There isn't a guide on switching per se but there should be. There are several forum threads that talk about this though. I'll get to that more below

Quote:
I currently have BTV, BTV Link, Beyond Media and several firefly's.

Basically what do I need to buy to keep the same feature sets. Looks like with sage you have to add a plug in for commercial skip, stuff like that.
BTV = SageTV (Windows version, Mac Version, Linux Version)
BTV Link = SageTV Client
Beyond Media = these features are included and integrated (yes its true) into SageTV
Firefly - you can use firefly with SageTV if you want.