SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Recorder Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Recorder Software Discussion related to the SageTV Recorder application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Recorder should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2003, 12:23 PM
edmondlow edmondlow is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Problem in creating custom quality settings

I downloaded the sagerecorder trial version to see if I can improve on the recordings over WinTV using a WintTV PVR-250.

I have read several discussions on creating custom settings. I have also reviewed the documented instructions. I have tried to make a few changes to the properties file for the following recording settings, i.e., 6.4 mbps average, 12 mbps peak, vbr but not sure if they worked.

How can I tell if the changes made are incorporated into the program

I noticed each time the sage recorder is started, a new properties file is created. It seems this would wipe out any changes made previously.

I would greatly appreciate any comments/suggestions. A sample of how the code could should look would also be wonderful.

Thank you,

Edmond
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2003, 04:06 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
Add this as a single line to your SageRecorder.properties file as an example:

mmc/python2_encoding/NewQuality=videobitrate=6400000|vbr=1|width=720|height=480|audiobitrate=384|outputstreamtype=0|audiosampling=48000|peakvideobitrate=12000000
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2003, 06:12 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,589
Quality settings for the PVR 250/350 can be added by modifying the properties file.

You don't need to specify all of the parameters for the quality setting; below is the list of the available parameters, their possible values, and their defaults. These are not case sensitive.

QualityName - is the name that will show up in SageRecorder for the Record quality option. Don't use any spaces or non-alphanumeric characters for the name unless you understand using backslash to do escape sequences.
audiooutputmode - 0 for stereo, 1 for joint, 2 for dual, and 3 for mono. stereo is the default
audiocrc - 0 for off, 1 for on. off is the default
gopsize - 15 and 6 are valid. 15 is the default
videobitrate - in bits/second. 4000000 is the default (4 Mbps)
inversetelecine - 0 is off, 1 is on. default is off
closedgop - 0 is off, 1 is on. default is off
vbr - 0 is off, 1 is on. default is off
outputstreamtype - 0 for Program Stream, 2 for MPEG1 stream, 10 for DVD compliant stream, 11 for VCD compliant stream. Program Stream is the default
width - 720, 480 or 352. 720 is the default (NOTE valid widthxheight combos are 720x480, 480x480, 352x480 and 35x240)
height - 240 or 480. 480 is the default
audiobitrate - in kilobits/second 192, 224, 256, 320, 384. default is 384
audiosampling - 32000, 44100, 48000. default is 48000
peakvideobitrate - in bits/second. This max bitrate when using VBR mode make the videobitrate 1.5x lower see the examples.

For SageRecorder; you only need to add one property per quality setting.
SageRecorder.properties file: Examples SageRecorder property setting.
mmc/python2_encoding/QualityName=videobitrate=2800000|width=480|height=480|audiobitrate=256

My Example for HQ DVD.
mmc/python2_encoding/MyDVD=videobitrate=4500000|width=720|height=480|audiobitrate=224|vbr=1|peakvideobitrate=6000000

My Example for VCD.
mmc/python2_encoding/VCD=videobitrate=1520000|width=352|height=240|audiobitrate=224|outputstreamtype=11|audiosampling=44100

My Example for backslash.
seeker/recording_qualities/MyDVD\ -\ 2\ hour=MyDVD,224,48000,6000000

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For SageTV; you need to add the same property you did with SageRecorder; but you also need to add another property that includes additional bitrate information. It's format is as follows:

SageTVQualityName - is the name that will show up in SageTV for the quality option. Don't use any spaces or non-alphanumeric characters for the name unless you understand using backslash to do escape sequences.
QualityName - refers to the property setting you created above
384 - is the audio bitrate in kbps, and is irrelevant (but must be present) because the one above overrides it
48000 is the audio sampling rate, and is also irrelevant (but must be present) because the one above overrides it
4444444 - is the overall bitrate of the entire stream in bits/second

For SageTV; you only need to add one property per quality setting.
Sage.properties file: Examples on the SageTV property setting.
seeker/recording_qualities/SageTVQualityName=QualityName,384,48000,4444444

My Example for HQ DVD.
seeker/recording_qualities/MyDVD=MyDVD,224,48000,6000000
mmc/python2_encoding/MyDVD=videobitrate=4500000|width=720|height=480|audiobitrate=224|vbr=1|peakvideobitrate=6000000

My Example for VCD.
seeker/recording_qualities/VCD=VCD,224,44100,15200000
mmc/python2_encoding/VCD=videobitrate=1520000|width=352|height=240|audiobitrate=224|outputstreamtype=11|audiosampling=44100

My Example for backslash.
seeker/recording_qualities/MyDVD\ -\ 2\ hour=MyDVD\ -\ 2\ hour,224,48000,6000000
mmc/python2_encoding/MyDVD\ -\ 2\ hour=videobitrate=4500000|width=720|height=480|audiobitrate=224|vbr=1|peakvideobitrate=6000000

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Prefiltering settings can be added to the quality settings, here's the names of the variables to use:

disablefilter - 0:Disable, filter settings will be disabled.
medianfilter - 0:Disable, 1:Horizontal, 2:Vertical, 3:Horz&Vert(default), 4:Diagonal
mediancoringlumahi - 0 to 255 (default 0)
mediancoringlumalo - 0 to 255 (default 255)
mediancoringchromahi - 0 to 255 (default 0)
mediancoringchromalo - 0 to 255 (default 255)
lumaspatialflt - 0:Disable, 1:1D Horiz, 2:1D Vert, 3:2D Horz & Vert Seperatable(default), 4:2D Non Seperable
chromaspatialflt - 0:Disable, 1:1D Horz(default)
dnrmode - 0:StaticBoth, 1:StaticTime/DynamicSpace, 2:DynamicTime/StaticSpace, 3:DynamicBoth(default)
dnrspatialfltlevel - 0 to 15 (default 0) - used in static mode only
dnrtemporalfltlevel - 0 to 15 (default 0) - used in static mode only
dnrsmoothfactor - 0 to 255 (default 200)
dnr_ntlf_max_y - 0 to 15 (default 15) - max NTLF Luma
dnr_ntlf_max_uv - 0 to 15 (default 15) - max NTLF Chroma
dnrtemporalmultfactor - 0 to 255 (default 48) - temporal filter multplier factor
dnrtemporaladdfactor - 0 to 15 (default 4) - temporal filter add factor
dnrspatialmultfactor - 0 to 255 (default 21) - spatial filter multiplier factor
dnrspatialsubfactor - 0 to 15 (default 2) - spatial filter sub factor
lumanltflevel - 0 to 15
lumanltfcoeffindex - 0 to 63
lumanltfcoeffvalue - 0 to 255
vimzoneheight - 0 to 15 (default 2)

Example for Prefiltering settings
mmc/python2_encoding/MyDVD\ -\ 2\ hour=videobitrate=4500000|width=720|height=480|audiobitrate=224|vbr=1|peakvideobitrate=6000000|disablefilter=0|dnrsmoothfactor=180
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2003, 08:54 PM
edmondlow edmondlow is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Thanks for your reply, however, there still seems to be a problem, I think.

When I add the line

"mmc/python2_encoding/ NewQuality=videobitrate=8000000|vbr=1|width=720|he
ight=480|audiobitrate=384|outputstreamtype=0|audio
sampling=48000|peakvideobitrate=12000000"

there is no change when I open up sage recorder.

Also, when I re-open the sagerecorder.properties file (after I start/stop sagerecorder) the change is gone. I verified the change was there by reopening the sagerecorder.properties file after saving the changes (as a text file)

Am I supposed to see NewQuality when I click the encoding selector button, after making the change in the sagerecorder.properties file?

Edmond
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2003, 10:23 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,589
Yes you should see word NewQuality by are run the latest beta?.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2003, 08:38 AM
edmondlow edmondlow is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
I am using the trial version, 1.1.4 (all that is available from the website). Where can I get the beta version. I cannot find a link anywhere. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2003, 09:22 AM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
Send me a PM and I'll forward you the link.

Dan
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2003, 09:46 AM
edmondlow edmondlow is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Dan,

I am sorry, but I don't know what a PM is.

Edmond
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2003, 09:50 AM
dkardatzke's Avatar
dkardatzke dkardatzke is offline
SageTV Co-Founder
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,220
Sorry, it means "Private Message". If you look at my post you will see a button with "pm" on it at the bottom. Click it to send me a private message through the forum. I get notified when I have new Private messages via email then.
__________________
Dan Kardatzke, Co-Founder
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2003, 10:07 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
You also need to edit the properties file while SageRecorder is not running. That's usually the problem when settings just disappear like you mention.

Thanks.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.