SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 12-20-2007, 12:41 PM

Does SageTV do upconverting?

I was wondering if SageTV has a built in upconverter for boosting or change video quality
Old 12-20-2007, 12:51 PM
Sage Advanced User

Sage doesn't necessarily do this, but the HTPC does it.

I'm not an expert, but I think it's actually the work of your hardware/software decoder (for deinterlacing and image processing) and your video card's scaler that outputs to the specified resolution.

And then your TV also might do some scaling from the resolution that is output from your video card to the native resolution of the screen.
Old 12-20-2007, 01:39 PM
Sage Advanced User

I sat here thinking about your question and haven't been satisfied with my own answer, so I've been digging around looking for better explanations.

I think it's because "upconversion" is a somewhat vague term.

In most cases, the computer will always output at a set resolution to the TV. For example, you configure windows to have your video card output 1280x720 non-interlaced or 720p. Anything that the computer's video card sends to the tv is in 1280x720.

Now, if you're playing a source video that's recorded at 640x480, this video needs to be processed before the computer/video card can output it at 1280x720.

There are multiple steps to this processing, two most important are: