SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 09-13-2007, 11:45 AM
Sage User

HELP with building my own DVR

I am new to this technology. I would like to build my own DVR that is transparent in the sense that it works simply like my current cable HD DVR/box (two tuners HD output). Can someone guide me on what hardware software I would need to do this? I already have a PC computer set aside for this.

Thanks
Old 09-16-2007, 06:59 PM
Sage Aficionado

Hi there.

Well, it'd be helpful to know the stats on your computer. To record and play back HD, you need something pretty beefy in terms of hard drive space and processor power, and I'm sure a big bunch or RAM wouldn't hurt either.

I haven't stepped into the HD arena yet, but I've read a bit about it, both on this board and others. Since you have a computer, and for the moment, I'll assume that it will be adequate, you need a HD tuner. Some people on this forum like the HD Homerun unit, which is an external tuner device that attaches to your cable and to your network. It has two tuners and your computer would connect to it over the network.

Hauppauge also makes a PCI HD tuner card, which you can find on their site. I think it only has one tuner per card.

For the software, you need SageTV. So, you're in the right place. If you want to be able to watch the HD recordings in HD quality on more than one computer, I think that your only option is to have a computer at each location you want to watch the video and have a separate SageTV client installation. Your main computer, would be the SageTV server unit and each client would query it for video listings and would get streamed video from it.