SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Old 07-19-2007, 12:59 PM
Sage User

Newbie Questions

Howdy.

I am new to the DIY PVR scene, but not new to computers. I recently switched from Direct TV (used their TIVO receiver) to local (digital) cable, and thought I would give SageTV a try (GBPVR was an exercise in total frustration.) I am having a few minor problems and thought I would ask in this forum as I am trying out the new beta.

I have set up a Dell Gx240 as the main box (no server enabled yet). I am runnning W2K (plain install,) and no anti-virus software. The box has 1GB of RAM, a 10 GB system drive, a 500GB capture drive, and I am outputting to a 27" tv via a fx5200 over composite. I am using a Hauppauge PVR 250 and its remote to control sage, and controlling the cable company's Motorolla DCT700 STB via a usb-uirt.

I have sage configured to use overlay, cyberlink video and audio decoders and renderers, and 3d acceleration turned off. I am recording the incoming composite signal at the DVD standard setting (3.2Gb/Hr).

My problem is that I am seeing intermittent minor stuttering during playback of recorded video, and major stuttering when trying to watch a DVD (from a DVD drive - not ripped to the HD). I have tried changing the video decoders, and cyberlink seems to be better than the ones that came with sagetv, but I am still seeing stuttering. The DVD playback bugs me the most. I can probably live with the intermittent stuttering of recorded shows.

Any ideas? I thought My setup would be plenty for just recording SD tv and outputting it to a single tv. By the way, DVD playback works fine through PowerDVD.