SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 01-05-2007, 03:05 PM
Sage Advanced User

DVD - Once and for all thread

Ok, I know I am a newbie here, but it appears playing DVD's is a complicated matter. I have done searches and read through lots of posts with people talking about different codecs, some software available somewhere on the Internet that disables Macrovision, hacking the windows registry, changing screen resolutions, etc. I am getting the error that it can't be played due to CSS or Macrovision (whatever they are).

Is it really that complicated?

If I can plug in a DVD on my computer, and it plays with Windoze Media Player, then why would Sage have problems? That just doesn't make any sense.

My system is Sempron 3100 based with a Hauppage 150 tuner and ATI 9550 graphics card. Currently it is connected to the TV via S-video, but will be using component shortly.

Someone suggested that running anything over 640x400 resolution will cause problems. Well, the lowest resolution available on my card is 800x600. I tried all the renderers or codecs in Sage TV with no difference.

So, what I am hoping is for a sticky thread that can explain:

1. The different scenarios that trigger certain things. For example, is it really true that if connected via svideo or component out at resolutions over 640x480 will not work due to digital rights management?