SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 12-31-2006, 05:54 PM
Sage Aficionado

Slightly off-topic: widescreen

I have been using SageTV for a couple of years, along with Placeshifter and a Client, and have been very happy with it. In my home office, I watch SageTV on a 17" 4x3 standard LCD monitor with great clarity, no real problems (DirecTV is the video source through the Svideo input on my Hauppauge 250), serial control of D10-100. I have a question that someone may help me with: I have an opportunity to get a widescreen 19" LCD monitor for almost nothing. But, most of DirecTV's programming is "pan and scan" or standard 4x3 aspect. Would I actually be getting a smaller viewing area with the 19" widescreen than my existing 17" 4x3 because of the reduced vertical dimension of the screen? It seems that 99% of DTV's programming is 4x3, would I gain anything with the new 19" widescreen, other than DVD's played in 16x9? Most of my viewing is CNN during the day and HBO, Showtime, Cinemax movies in the evening.

Thanks for any input! And, to all a Happy New Year!

Rob
Old 12-31-2006, 06:12 PM
SageTVaholic

For true 4x3 content, you'd most likely be viewing it pillarboxed on the widescreen monitor (i.e. with black bars on either side). For 16x9 content that has been letterboxed to 4x3 at the source, you'd be seeing it with black bars all around. However you can then use SageTV's aspect ratio controls to zoom that picture to fill the entire screen. This is what I do with letterboxed content on my widescreen monitor.
Old 12-31-2006, 11:39 PM
SageTVaholic