SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 07-19-2006, 08:04 PM

Couple of newby questions

I am new to HTPC and am looking to build one. From all of the software I have looked at I like Sage the best. Before I invest in new hardware I have a couple of questions, I have gone through the forums and elsewhere to try to answer them, but am still confused on a couple of issues:

HD is not a requirment, nor is placeshifting. Primarily looking for tv recording/playback and an interface to play mp3s on home stereo.

I have comcast digital cable with HBO. Will all features of Sage TV work with HBO and video on demand? PPV would be good, but I could live without it.

Without getting a second cable box, is it possible to watch one cable program and record another cable program?

I would be building a dedicated Sage PC which I would Remote Desktop into for adminstration, so no real monitor on it. Assuming I meet the overlay and DirectX 9 requirements, would a better video card make any difference to me?

Thank you for any assistance.
Old 07-19-2006, 08:31 PM
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by deMayo
Without getting a second cable box, is it possible to watch one cable program and record another cable program?