SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 04-18-2006, 01:14 AM
Sage User

Options for HDTV capture from satellite. Why not component input?

Hello. I'm a relative newbie to SageTV (have had it about 4 months now), but as the kids would say, it is definitely "The Bomb". My current setup is SD (standard definition) from my DISH/Echostar satellite receiver pumping into my media center computer via a Hauppauge PVR-150. It works like a charm, but I'm itching for a HDTV solution.

I've been reading the forums as much as I can to try to figure out all I can about options with HDTV. Maybe someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I think what I have figured out is that HDTV with Sage works great if you use OTA (over the air) HDTV signals. If you want to use a cable or satellite receiver, your options are very limited.

It seems like most of the discussions I've read seem to say that the HDTV "output" from most satellite receivers really cannot be captured by any of the common HDTV capture cards (because they only accept OTA HDTV inputs, right?). In addition, there seems to be a lot of discussion regarding the HDTV output from most cable/satellite receivers being encrypted.

First question, do I have that all correct? And second, if so, why not capture the video directly from the component (Y, Pr, Pb) video ouputs from the satellite receiver? Couldn't a device like this:
http://www.adstech.com/products/API-...sp?pid=API-555
be used for that?

Thanks!
Old 04-18-2006, 05:45 AM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjwhelan
First question, do I have that all correct?
Basically, yes.

Quote: