SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 03-30-2006, 11:39 AM
Sage Advanced User

Some Basic upgrade questions to add HDTV

I have been happily using Sage with Cable STB now for about 2 years. I am running version 3.x

Now that Sage is supporting HDTV I would like to add an ota HDTV card and upgrade to the latest Sage version.

So what is the smoothest route?

1. First upgrade Sage, then install new HDTV capture card or
2. Install new card and then upgrade Sage?

I have no experience with dual capture cards, and am concerned about getting the EPG correct and keeping it all simple and integrated for the WIFE FACTOR

Any pointers would be appreciated!
Old 03-30-2006, 08:38 PM
Sage User

Amen for the wife factor. I too would like answers to the above questions because I am also thinking about doing an OTA HD card. It's not worth getting digital cable for eight HD channels when OTA will get you 6 (no ESPN HD or Discovery HD, <insert sarcasm> darn).
Old 03-31-2006, 11:17 AM
Sage Aficionado

Send a message via ICQ to teknubic Send a message via AIM to teknubic Send a message via MSN to teknubic Send a message via Yahoo to teknubic
Here's roughly what I did:
  1. Found a block of time where no recordings were scheduled (2h should do)
  2. Performed a backup as described in the manual
  3. Instead of restarting the agents after the backup, I ran the v4 install
  4. Restart
  5. Verified that v4 works correctly with existing hardware by doing some channel surfing.